Fordmods Logo

EF Trip Computer Issues 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF Trip Computer Issues
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

My trip computer has started playing around on me. It has started just turning itself off. The first it happened it was the wire going to the cluster was dislodged a little and the connection at the back was out a little.

This morning my parents moved my car. Hopped in it and started my beast and it doesnt work. I think its the wire running to the cluster again as when I press any buttons nothing happens. Any ideas on how I can secure this wire in?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

once i got mine in furm i just added a drop of super glue : )
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok just took my whole dash and cluster apart checked every single connection, every single wire and it turns out he trip computer is broken (something rattling around inside).

So here is my dilemma. Can anyone fix this rattle, its abit of plastic, cant describe it much more then that

OR

does anyone have a Trip Computer I can buy off them?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:47 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

When the trip computer dies, does pressing a button bring up the clock display ?????

If absolutely nothing is working, then I would guess that either
1) the connector on the PCB has a dry solder joint, or is broken
2) the LCD screen may not be sitting properly on the PCB. (Maybe an LCD screen clip is stuffed ????)

If pressing a button brings the clock up, and the trip computer does stuff all else, then its definitely something to do with the data line, whether the connector is stuffed (unlikely), or the data line cable is mating with the connector, or something around those lines

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 5:24 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Nope nothing Xyphoid. Jamming the wires in doesnt do anything and when I press buttons nothing comes up. Its freaking annoying as all hell.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 882

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: In Transition

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

i had a similar problem, the trip computer would turn on and off, so my dad gave it a good thump from the top and hey what do u know havent had any trouble since, however i dont recommend this, but if worse come to worse give it a good thump :lol:


(Leszek takes no responsibility in any damage that may be cause to property as a result of these actions)

 

_________________

Image
Member Since FM 1

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No we just took it apart and found a bit of perspex floating around. If I superglue this back together will it still work.

Also what can I use for filter paper as I found out hwo to change this when I took it apart.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:59 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Can I use thin cardboard or something to make it different colours?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How does the stopwatch function work again?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2005 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 844

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: FBT

Location: Nth East
VIC, Australia

Have it in one of the modes, not the clock and hold down either search or reset for 10 seconds, not sure which one

 

_________________

"12 yards long, two lanes wide, 65 tonnes of american pride" Fairlane
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:13 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names