Fordmods Logo

EL Fairmont Ghia climate control temp sensor problem 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL Fairmont Ghia climate control temp sensor problem
Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

My temp sensor on my climate control is not working properly. I'm referring to the ambient outside temp one. Its reading very low and jumping around.
Where is the sensor located and how can I fix or replace the sensor.

Also is it easy to remove the trip computer and climate control pads from the dash by prying them out or do you have to remove the dash?

Cheers guys.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 07, 2005 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

The Ambiant sensor is located in front of the radiator. Remove the black plastic cover between the headlights and you should see it.

To remove the Climate module you will need to remove the dash facia, but don't worry, its very easy to remove.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 08, 2005 3:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Cheers mate. I'll have a look tomorrow.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 08, 2005 11:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I've found the sensor. I think I need a new one. Do you know how much they cost roughly?

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 08, 2005 12:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I've also noticed this morning that when I turn on the accessories the off word on the climate control panel flashes 3 times and then stays on. Normally it just stays on.
Is that an error code comming up?

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 08, 2005 12:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I found the diagnostic doco on this website and tried it and its definately the ambient sensor it came up as error E5. Something shonky going on with the sensor.
Need a new one.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 09, 2005 11:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

any quirks with the climate control panel to recirculate the air but NOT have the aircon come on at the same time? :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 10, 2005 11:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fordman351 wrote:
any quirks with the climate control panel to recirculate the air but NOT have the aircon come on at the same time? :?


Yeah it wont have aircon on and recirculate either but it has always done that. I thought it was normal. Is that not normal?

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 1:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

That is normal from what i can find. But i dont really wanna have the aircon on in the middle of winter when i want to recirculate the air through the car. :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 11, 2005 10:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Acutually I just tested it yesterday and it now does recirculate while aircon is on. Must of fixed itself.
It used to turn the aircon off when I recirculated but not any more.

Always use your aircon for at least 5 minutes a week or more during winter so the seals get lubricated. If you dont use it for 6 months it will probably leak. The lubrication is in the freon type stuff that does the cooling and must be circulated to get to the seals.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names