Fordmods Logo

EL Ghia - Automatic Shifter Details 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EL Ghia - Automatic Shifter Details
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 8:59 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 157

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: 2008 BF MKII SR

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I am considering purchasing an aftermarket automatic shifter for my EL Ghia, however, the item description states that the shifter will only work if the rod underneath the current shifter requires pushing down. If it requires lifting up then it will not work.

Does anyone know off hand which way the rod operates in the EL Ghia?

Regards



Anthony
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

pushes down

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 468

Joined: 21st Aug 2005

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: SERIES 2 FAIRMONT GHIA

Location: perth western australia
WA, Australia

yep- pushes down

i had to make a new rod when i made my gearshift-needed to make it shorter



Image

 

_________________

Image

15 PSI OF BOOSTED GHIA GOODNESS!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 11:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

i want this in my car

Image

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 11:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

I'm looking into getting it done soon. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

yeah same early next year

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 8:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

low ghia wrote:
yep- pushes down

i had to make a new rod when i made my gearshift-needed to make it shorter



Image


Damn Low Ghia! I like that setup you've got. How'd ya do it? *drools*

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:48 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 157

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I made this one up last night -

Image

No button on the top, but I used a piece of welding rod and cut/ground it down to size to replace the original rod. It doesn't lock in-place anymore, which is a good excuse to not let anyone else drive it.

 

_________________

-- Tympanic Membrane Desecration --

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

also very dangerous and illigal

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

looks good and all but a bit dangerous...

But i can see how it would be fun shifting 1-2-3 and 3-2-1 with out pressing the button, just like a sequential manual gearbox :lol:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 157

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What's illegal about it? I'm not too familiar with anything to do with legalities really haha (is it THAT obvious?? :P )

 

_________________

-- Tympanic Membrane Desecration --

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Photo Of My New Knob
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:10 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 157

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: 2008 BF MKII SR

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Attached Is A Photo Of My New Knob

 

 

Attachments:
PC152249.JPG
PC152249.JPG [ 51.27 KiB | Viewed 33 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 1:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 157

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Nice one! Did you machine it urself as a billet model? :P

How much did that set u back? The one I bought before cost about $30 I think and was just machined and polished Ali

 

_________________

-- Tympanic Membrane Desecration --

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 512

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

where r we all getting these woodgrain auto shifter surrounds ive got the standard grey 1 from a 96 gli with 5 holes in it from a phone car kit, would like to get that fixed up, also where could i pick up a new auto shifter that still has a button and is a direct swap over
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 4:01 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 50

Joined: 14th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Fairlane NF(V8)

Location: Rotorua
New Zealand

gli wrote:
where r we all getting these woodgrain auto shifter surrounds ive got the standard grey 1 from a 96 gli with 5 holes in it from a phone car kit, would like to get that fixed up, also where could i pick up a new auto shifter that still has a button and is a direct swap over


Came standard on my Fairlane. :wink: lol.
But if yours didn't, you can buy them and other replacement woodgrain/grey/tan interior inserts on http://www.ebay.com.au
Can get most interior/exterior stuff on there actually. Trips meters, the lot.

Dan. :lol:

 

_________________

My other car is a monkey.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:05 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names