Fordmods Logo

EL Handbrake switch wire not connected? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL Handbrake switch wire not connected?
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My project ELXR6 has got quite a few probs to say the least (Can't believe what some people/butchers do to their cars!) and one 'new' prob is after removing the old carpet for replacment i noticed the handbrake wire is just loose with the connector on the end of it......removed the plastic tunnel cover to expose the loom but thers no connector init.....Anyone know where it normally is.......Ther ar'nt any other areas it would go???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Park brake switch is connected to the socket below the ashtray, it'll also have the auto illumination plug and power button wires attached to it, also the rear interior light (if applicable),

Manuals only run one wire to this plug.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Aah we meet again Krytox! Glad someone knows ther stuff......Will have an 'indepth' look tmoz.....but why oh why do people disconnect and chop and F*$K around with wiring....This project is my worst nightmare.....Should be driving it by now...And still gotta fix SRS code 33 ...aaarrrgh,,,,,and other things!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 11:21 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Could have been something to do with stereo if it had dvd with screens. Some require the hand brake to be on before the screen will show a picture, and to get around this some ppl disable the switch.......just a possibility.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Umm....i have a confession to make.. i seem to have forgotten that the console assembly is sittin on a shelf with whatta u know.....the looms that i'm lookin for.....Oh dear!!! So now it's back to the Code 32/33 SRS probs.....When i get some time and decent Melbourne weather that is......it's all over the place atmo!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

I was gonna actually mention that, because you said you removed the plastic hump... nm!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 224

Joined: 13th Nov 2004

Ride: EB2 Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Console got removed months ago so it was sort of out6 of the picture.....still no excuse tho...lol!
The SRS fault is a killer.....SO many wires and SO hard to get too.....Never say never tho!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:29 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names