Fordmods Logo

electric windows burnt out switch 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: electric windows burnt out switch
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

hey all

didn't realise, but the switch for my drivers window got stck on 'D' on my recent trip, so its now cooked the switch (i assume - as the window won't go up)

i can replace with a spare i have at home in the meantime, but do i have to replace it, or can i resolder/wire the stuffed switch? cheers!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

depends how badly burnt it got :roll: :P

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

have to pull it out and see i guess. I pulled out the switch from my mums camry which wasn't working, had burnt itself out on the terminals, so I just used a bit of sandpaper to remove the carbon, and now it works again. :)

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

what sort of switch assembly was it? a futura / XR6 or fairmont one??

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

fairmont

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

You can use older EB series type, just change the buttons.

But remember, you'll most likely be getting second hand ones so make sure they're in good cond'n

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Krytox wrote:
You can use older EB series type, just change the buttons.
Hes right you know . . .
Might be wise to check if the motor's okay - IIRC they have a thermal overload fitted. Have a look at the power window doco and find the red and yellow wires on the plug connector, apply 12v to them and reverse polarity, and make sure the motor operates okay.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

uglybob wrote:
fairmont



in that case, if you remove the switch and totaly pull it apart, you will see that one of the joints has a "dry" solder joint. Place a soldering iron and some more solder of it will fix the problem. Also, the contacts within the actual button may be burnt out and need to be cleaned

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:42 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

and now it works :?

after a few hours of sitting around, the window decides it will work again - don't ask me how/why it does now, but i'm not complaining! :P

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:44 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names