Fordmods Logo

Electrics issues 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:58 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check ur wirings then.....will be hell of a job though running ur fingers through the wires have fun and good luck =D

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:36 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

there is a couple of earth wires on top of your dash where the plastic cover is below the windscreen if you take that plastic cover off .
there is 3 or 4 wires were the dash pad bolts to the car.
i had some similer probs and the earth wires on top of the dash were a little loose. tightend them up and all ok now.....

if all else fails give it a try...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks for the tips all.

Last night after filling up at the servo, I turned my wipers on and as I did the dash lit up fine and stayed lit up until I parked the car at home.

I took the fairmont down to an auto electrician who had a quick look and poked around a bit for no charge. The only thing was that the problem had stopped and none of the symptoms were happening.

This is after he jiggled around on a few wires and relays. He explained that the most probable causes are the modulators on the switch or the on the dash itself. Or alternatively a solder joint has been knocked loose. He said if it happens again drop it back and he will open up the dash.

But it seems to be fine now :?

Damn gremlins in my dash :evil:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Ok. An update for those interested.

The EA & EB series I falcon/fairmont's that came with a digital dash display there were some common faults.

1. - The power aerial will crap out.

2. - The micro in-dash computer that controls power aerial, window wipers and dash display almost always craps out.

Im working with Ford and a trusted auto eleccy now to solve it once & for all... no matter what the cost.

Ill post up any future updates in the hope that it will help someone else out.

Cheers
Pat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 404

Joined: 8th Jun 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah definately interested. Please keep us informed.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names