Fordmods Logo

error E2 Climate Control 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: error E2 Climate Control
Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 8:31 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Sep 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Hi, I've got an EF Fairmont and the climate control is giving me an error E2, I know that has something to do with the "blend motor door" whatever that is.

I wanted to know how much of a pain is it to fix myself. I'm reasonable compantant in pulling things apart and I have a mate who is really good at the mechanical stuff, so would the two of us be able to do it??

million doller question I guess but I thought I'd ask anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

hey mate its not a hard job but its a prick of a job, dash has to come out. if you have a passenger side airbag you maybe be able to do it by taking that and the glove box out but will be a real prick, the blend door motor is in a prick of a spot.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

oh and the blend door motor is the solenoid that changes the blend door that mixes hot and cold air. you may find that ure heater doesnt work properly as well.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 11:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Rapier wrote:
hey mate its not a hard job but its a prick of a job, dash has to come out. if you have a passenger side airbag you maybe be able to do it by taking that and the glove box out but will be a real prick, the blend door motor is in a prick of a spot.


yeah apparently it is a prick of a job :lol:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

just realised hes a hobart lad, you could come down fordz and we could help the bloke out........... or could we???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

That code is what every E-Series Ford owner dreads. :lol:

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:58 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Sep 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Rapier wrote:
hey mate its not a hard job but its a prick of a job, dash has to come out. if you have a passenger side airbag you maybe be able to do it by taking that and the glove box out but will be a real prick, the blend door motor is in a prick of a spot.


So you get to it from the inside through the dash. I'd heard that the heaterbox had to come out which meant mucking around with the A/C, but that was from someone who I wouldn't trust that much.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Rapier wrote:
just realised hes a hobart lad, you could come down fordz and we could help the bloke out........... or could we???


I've even got two spare BDM's here :)

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: error E2 Climate Control
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

The dash out is a fair bit of work but not that bad. Considering you only need to tilt if forward a bit to gain access to the BDM. If it is Factory Fitted then you won't be able to get at the rear screw without a dash out approach.
BTW - isn't Boag's the brand in south Tas how come Cascade or do I have it wrong way around?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: error E2 Climate Control
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

twason wrote:
The dash out is a fair bit of work but not that bad. Considering you only need to tilt if forward a bit to gain access to the BDM. If it is Factory Fitted then you won't be able to get at the rear screw without a dash out approach.
BTW - isn't Boag's the brand in south Tas how come Cascade or do I have it wrong way around?


obviosuly we brew 2 good beers down here mate both :P
cascade hobart
boags launceston

nah heaterbox doesnt have to come out, it is figety getting it on with the heaterbox in place, but it isnt worth the trouble taking it out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: error E2 Climate Control
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:04 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Sep 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

twason wrote:
BTW - isn't Boag's the brand in south Tas how come Cascade or do I have it wrong way around?


Nah I'm old school, it'll always be Cascade :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Sep 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
Rapier wrote:
just realised hes a hobart lad, you could come down fordz and we could help the bloke out........... or could we???


I've even got two spare BDM's here :)


Wouldn't want to sell one would you, turns out Ford have made them obsolete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

cascade wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
Rapier wrote:
just realised hes a hobart lad, you could come down fordz and we could help the bloke out........... or could we???


I've even got two spare BDM's here :)


Wouldn't want to sell one would you, turns out Ford have made them obsolete.


$30 and its yours.

Give me a chance to test it first though, becuase you'll be wanting to hunt me down with a axe if you fit it up and find it dosen't work, becuase as tim said, "its a prick of a job" :wink:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:35 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Sep 2006

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
cascade wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
Rapier wrote:
just realised hes a hobart lad, you could come down fordz and we could help the bloke out........... or could we???


I've even got two spare BDM's here :)


Wouldn't want to sell one would you, turns out Ford have made them obsolete.


$30 and its yours.

Give me a chance to test it first though, becuase you'll be wanting to hunt me down with a axe if you fit it up and find it dosen't work, becuase as tim said, "its a prick of a job" :wink:


ok thanks that'll be great, I'll sort out a way to pay you as soon as you know if it works or not.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

cascade wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
Rapier wrote:
just realised hes a hobart lad, you could come down fordz and we could help the bloke out........... or could we???


I've even got two spare BDM's here :)


Wouldn't want to sell one would you, turns out Ford have made them obsolete.


$30 is a bargain and u should buy that one, however ford havent made them obselete because i fitted a new genuine one to an NL fairlane today
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names