Fordmods Logo

Fitting Guages to a BA falcon 


Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 Post subject: Fitting Guages to a BA falcon
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
User avatar

Age: 57

Posts: 17

Joined: 16th Dec 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA

NSW, Australia

I want to fit a volt meter, electronic oil pressure guage to my ba any special tips or is just a matter finding the right power wires and splicing in. :roll:



When in doubt
Rev it out...

 Post subject: Re: Fitting Guages to a BA falcon
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:07 pm 
Smokin em up
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I've got that exact setup in my BA XR6, Autometer Voltmeter/Oil Pressure gauges in Cobalt range. Looks awesome at night time with blue backlight and dark orange needle, matches the cluster a treat.

There's no real special tips per se, just be prepared to dismantle your dash and get your hands a bit dirty. Voltmeter is very simple to install. Oil Pressure is a little bit more work, you basically need to install a splitter onto the pressure sender that is used for your cluster (the light which illuminates when pressure gets too low).

There are downloadable PDF instructions on the Autometer web-site for installation instructions, and plus plenty of threads on this site too.
Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 4:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1298

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Ride: BA 3v ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You can also just run the sender to an oil filter adaptor instead



Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Age: 36

Posts: 1273

Joined: 30th Sep 2007

Ride: g6e 2009

Location: hiding in the bushes
WA, Australia

moot, i did similar to mine. to do the oil pressure, i pulled the stock pressure switch from the block, added a 't' piece i got from couplers for $5, and screwed that in. put the stock sender back on and added the gauge sender. if the gauge sender is 1/8npt, then ive found you can use stock aircompressor line fitting to extend the coupler for clearance. voltmeter is a piece of piss. ran the wiring through drivers firewall, and up the back off the icc.
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names