Fordmods Logo

Fresh/Recirc Flap 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fresh/Recirc Flap
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:23 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Hey,
When my keys are at acc, the flap works fine and will switch between fresh and recirc no problems. However when I move the keys to on, or start the car it defaults to recirc no matter what.
Kind of annoying...and weird. Anyone know what's going on?
Cheers.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:59 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

:cry:

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

i have never heard of this problem before. I always thought they either worked or they didn't. The only time that i know of when they don't work is when the little actuators arm snaps off. Which isn't the case in your problem as it works when in the acc. All i can suggest is that its a vac leak or faulty actuaor. There not a complex device (no wirng connectors etc)

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Could it be anything in the 'climate' control unit?
If I have it on fresh, and then turn the key on, I hear a hiss come from there I think.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

voxace wrote:
Could it be anything in the 'climate' control unit?
If I have it on fresh, and then turn the key on, I hear a hiss come from there I think.


theres your problem. You got a Vac leak :wink:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:00 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

I probably yanked it out during the manual conversion or something lol.
Still, it's confusing why it only does it when the key is set to 'on'.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

Vacuum leak indicated with motor not running flaps stay put (no Vacuum) as soon as the motor starts vacuum operates the climate control correctly see if you can pinpoint the hiss in the system by changing from fresh to recirculate and using a stethescope ( or a small hose ) to trace the leak. :shock:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

check for AC MAX. when AC MAX is on, it locks it to recirc. could be that when you start the car the AC kicks in trying to cool the car as fast as it can. try using manual settings on the climate, see if that gets it.

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah this is all with no a/c on.
GTBob, it happens switching between acc and on too, without starting the motor. But yeah I might pull the dash apart and discern where exactly it's coming from.

I've tried operating the flap manually, they have quite a bit of spring to them. A thought I had just then is that there might be a vacuum leak in a different system and it might be trying to close the flap, but with no success due to lack of vacuum? So something might be using up all my vacuum when the key is set to 'on'?

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names