Fordmods Logo

Fuel Guage always says FULL What The? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fuel Guage always says FULL What The?
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

first things first on tuesday i filled the car rigght up ($91 later) full to the brim and yeah today is now thursday and i have driven approx 100 kms according to the ODO and yeah

i put a Trip Computer in my EA Falcon GL the other day and now it says it is awalys full considering i have driven 100km and needle hasn't moved what the go have i f**k up my cluster or something or does it take a while for a full tank to go down a bit? and the TC has been sitting on 394 for last 5kms

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I can do around 130k,s before the needle moves from full. If it still doesnt move the sender float could be jambed.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 496

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII Fairmont Ghia

Location: Warragul
VIC, Australia

Yeah it's normal for it to remain on full for a while if you fully fill the car, if you're on the highway the trip computer will probably go up :)

Ben
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:21 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Yeah mines doesn't move for about 100-150km depending on what driving I'm doing.

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:38 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 247

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Langwarrin
VIC, Australia

yeah exactly what the other guys said, u should see it move/it should've moved by 150kms... if it hasnt for a while after that then theres somethin wrong :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

as above, my take on it is by brimming the tank, you are going well clear of the last fuel level sensor so untill you use the extra fuel you put in its gonna read full.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1518

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 175 rwkw

Location: The Shire, Sydney
NSW, Australia

I'll swap you for mine, it always reads empty :P

 

_________________

ImageImage

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

yeah ya right about 138 it moved

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

Technically you're only mean to fill it to the stop when you pump so if you filled it right up that's why
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 2015

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Territory TX AWD & AUII XLS EGAS

Location: East Kurrajong
NSW, Australia

I can do 500km and it still says it's full.
Then again sometimes it shows dead empty when it is full as well.

bloody electricals ... I have changed the floats and senders on both the LPG tanks under the ute ... and laos checked the earth points and plug connections as well.

I have been told there another earth point behind the cluster under the dash top and I need to check that as well.

*shakes head* PITA job that is.

 

_________________

04 Territory TX AWD - Winter White - optioned up
06 Falcon BFII XLS ute EGAS - Winter White - EGA-54D Version 2

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 930

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeh i have dual fuel, when its on gas and i fill it right up its either full or the needle stops working. like it ticks all the way up, then dies, then up then down, keep doing this until i have about half a tank of gas then it decides to work properly, dont know what the go is there (trip computer reading is fine though) Although when its on petrol it works fine....

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names