Fordmods Logo

GLI updates 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: GLI updates
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 4:47 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Great site with lots of useful information.

I am considering a cluster upgrade for my EF GLI but i would like to stage it.
Read the mod docs but i have a question about the standard GLI cluster.
If i install an oil presure sender, will the standard cluster show the oil presure when in diagnostics mode or do i need to modify the cluster by cutting some track ?
Currently with the oil pressure switch the cluster shows an oil presure of 0 when in diagnostics mode.

Also does anyone know if the cluster modifies the speed signal from the gearbox sensor before relaying it to the ecu ? I ask as i am thinking of fitting the ford cruise control unit to another car :)

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

nothing has to be done to the cluster to make the oil pressure guage work, just add the sender and plug it in.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 1:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

and the needle (if you want it to work on the cluster)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:27 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

There is no oil gauge in a GLi instrument cluster so needles won't do :)

But when you put the GLI cluster in diagnostics mode, you can display the oil pressure in bars within the oddometer area.

The problem for me is that i have one of those cheep gregory type manuals and it shows a link between the oil switch and the low oil lamp (within the cluster circuit board).
That link is marked as "GLI only".

That's why i ask if i need to remove or cut a link on the circuit board of the GLI instrument cluster.

Has anyone actually tried just putting in a sender in unit in a GLi ?
If i need to cut some link, anyone know which link to cut within the cluster ?

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

honestly mate, it wouldn't be worth your time and effort trying to do it. You would still need to cut or replace your facia cover so you could see the new guage. And for the price of an oil sendor and 2nd hand fairmont cluster - you wouldn't even bother.

I got my km's chip swapped out and the additional resister done for ten bucks, took the tv repair guy like 5 minutes!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

i dont think many people realise what hes trying to say
he talking about getting the oil pressure to display in the diagnoistics area. the only way you can find out i think is to install the sender unit ive got one at home that i havent put into my car yet, mines a futura with a mid series cluster. i can try putting my low series cluster back in to see what the differences are but right at this momnent i couldnt really be bothered doing that. i'd be pretty confident that if you put the sender in the oil pressure in the diagnostics mode wouldnt work, but it may but for 100 bucks or whatever why not get a mid series cluster and have the pretty gauges as well :mrgreen:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 2:56 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks Rapier, you worked out what i was asking :)
Just thought someone may have tried this cheep upgrade before.

I have not found any mid series clusters at my local wreckers and thought putting in an oil sender unit may let me see the oil pressure in my GLi when in diagnostics mode.

Anyway i have bigger fish to fry - fitting a cruise control in my EF GLi auto.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names