Fordmods Logo

Grey Box with wires on it in jack compartment 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Grey Box with wires on it in jack compartment
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi all,
I was just changing a light globe (friggin left rear break light needs replacing every few months!!) and decided to go looking for places where I can splice the wires if I decide to install my towbar myself. In the jack compartment in the wagon, there is a grey box clipped to the inside top, with 10 wires going into it. Its labelled BOSCH and a few other bits and pieces.

Was wondering what it was? I thought any controller boxes etc were under the dash or wherever, not in the rear jack compartment???

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 6:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

if the car you are talking about is the one in your gallery, it would be the rear wiper ECU.

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

A box and ten wires to run a wiper??? Cripes.

Thanks mate. I obviously can't splice into that, unless I drive with the wipers on when i'm towing the trailer!!! :D

I think I might just end up splicing into the tail light wires, there seems to be a perfect gap to run the wires down to behind the bumper, and attach the connector to the towbar.

All I need to do now is track down a cheap towbar that will bolt straight in, thats the hard part. New the local place want $289, and the local wrecker hasn't bothered to get back to me.

Thanks again.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:17 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 78

Joined: 26th Apr 2005

Location: London
QLD, Australia

I would have thought there would be a trailer wire (with a small white plastic plug) tucked away somewhere. I've seen this in a few AUs however they were sedans. Don't see why a wagon would be different.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

falconboy wrote:
A box and ten wires to run a wiper??? Cripes.

Thanks mate. I obviously can't splice into that, unless I drive with the wipers on when i'm towing the trailer!!! :D

I think I might just end up splicing into the tail light wires, there seems to be a perfect gap to run the wires down to behind the bumper, and attach the connector to the towbar.

All I need to do now is track down a cheap towbar that will bolt straight in, thats the hard part. New the local place want $289, and the local wrecker hasn't bothered to get back to me.

Thanks again.


when you think about it, 10 wires is what it takes to run a wiper. 1 for power, 1 for on, 1 for int, 1 for low speed, 1 for high speed, 1 for variable int, 1 for ground etc etc.....

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Can anyone shed any light on Samanthas suggestion there is already a trailer 'loom' somewhere?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

yeah there will be a plug there somewhere. when you get the trailer plug from ford it will have the connector on it with the 7 wires in it you just run through and plug it in. no splicing, easy as

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

see if you can get a pic of that box as id be very suprised if it was an ecu for your wipers. i dont believe there would be a seperate one for it, would just go va the combo switch and bem. the rear wiper wouldn't have 3 different speeds like the front

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thanks Leroy,

Will try and get a pic tomorrow.

Can one buy the connector wired with plug from Ford as a seperate item or only as part of the kit with a towbar?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

you can get the wiring seperate. will have a look tomorrow and let you know a part number / price

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Leroy wrote:
see if you can get a pic of that box as id be very suprised if it was an ecu for your wipers. i dont believe there would be a seperate one for it, would just go va the combo switch and bem. the rear wiper wouldn't have 3 different speeds like the front


according to the factory ford manuals EA-ED and EF-EL there is in fact a rear wiper ECU

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 587

Joined: 25th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yep, I just found in my Max Ellerys there is a rear wiper ECU. Fancy that!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

ok there is a relay in the rear there that looks like what you are describing.

anyway ER 15A417 B is the wiring for the trailer. that will just plug in to the loom. They are about 90 bucks though

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Can you post a pic ??? :idea:

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

the plug for the loom is inside the RHS of the wagon bit.. inside the storage space there...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:01 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names