Fordmods Logo

Head Unit power problem 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 2:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

not sure if this is the correct spot to post this buy anyways..

Installed a JVC KD-AVX33 a few months ago, only problem is that i didnt earth it so everytime i turned the car off/on everything would reset. So today i took the head unit out, hooked an earthing wire to where it says on the diagram, and connected that to the negative of my ciggie lighter. Now there is no power to my head unit at all. I disconnected the earth and still no power to my head unit. i didnt pull out or change any plugs.. bit confused as to why its doing this.

Any help will be muchly appreciated.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 2:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok so i just checked the fuse's and it was blown, put another in while the earth was connected and it blew again. i guess i cant earth it to the negative of the ciggie lighter. Where should i earth the head unit to?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 963

Joined: 14th Jul 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU fairmont ghia

Location: Back in
ACT, Australia

you sure its the earth wire, if it resets is the permanent wire thats not connected (ie yellow wire on aftermarket head units, could be the reason you blowing fuses) see if you can take a pic of the back of you headunit and post it up it would help solve your problem

 

_________________

AU FAIRMONT GHIA: 5.0 Dealer ordered SVO mods ( seeking clarification ATM), tickford suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 399

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: '62 mercury/au xr6/zh 'lane

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Why would an unconnected earth wire cause i to lose its memory? The last head unit I installed wouldnt even turn on without an earth. However, to solve your problem, just splice into your -V wire for an earth. Doesnt really matter its fuse protected anyway. Doubt that will solve your loss memory problem though.
Come to think of it I had a similar problem a couple of months ago. I think I had the - connected to a speaker wire.

 

_________________

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 399

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: '62 mercury/au xr6/zh 'lane

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Yeah you could but surely theres a closer one than that. Any bare metal surface will do, or as I said just use the - line

 

_________________

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:48 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey all. when down to autobarn and got some new fuses, the guy told me you can earth it to any metal part of the car, so i wired it up to an empty screw hole and it works.

Now i have myself an amp wiring kit. Ive got the Sound plugs in no problems, but im not sure how to connect up the power. im guessing i have to drill thru the fire wall? if so where is the best place to drill? and also there is a very thin wire i have to connect up to the amp aswell. it has something to do with the power, where do i install that wire? and im assuming the earth cable i put where ever i can earth it. This is my first amp install by the way
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:51 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

If it was running without an earth, and is now blowing fuses with the earth. you've got something else seriously wrong.

Recheck ALL other connections.


Many decks will earth out via the RCA leads, this can cause damage to the head deck and/or amp. (Pioneer decks are micro fuses on the RCAs, which will blow and it'll be noisy forever more)

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 399

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: '62 mercury/au xr6/zh 'lane

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

lowie57 wrote:
hey all. when down to autobarn and got some new fuses, the guy told me you can earth it to any metal part of the car, so i wired it up to an empty screw hole and it works.

Now i have myself an amp wiring kit. Ive got the Sound plugs in no problems, but im not sure how to connect up the power. im guessing i have to drill thru the fire wall? if so where is the best place to drill? and also there is a very thin wire i have to connect up to the amp aswell. it has something to do with the power, where do i install that wire? and im assuming the earth cable i put where ever i can earth it. This is my first amp install by the way

Just left of the brake booster, there should be a empty hole with a plug in it, use this for your thick amp power cable, however if yours is a manual, the clutch cable will be in this hole, obviousely feed it from the engine bay into the cabin. If you have a manual, feed it from the cabin into the engine bay through the bonnet release. I think the thin wire you're talking about is going to be accessory power for the amp. To get this, take out your stereo again, and splice it into the accessory power wire from that (should be red on the cd player side) then run it to the amp. Then yeah earth and thats it

 

_________________

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

data_mine wrote:
If it was running without an earth, and is now blowing fuses with the earth. you've got something else seriously wrong.

Recheck ALL other connections.


Many decks will earth out via the RCA leads, this can cause damage to the head deck and/or amp. (Pioneer decks are micro fuses on the RCAs, which will blow and it'll be noisy forever more)


Its all good, i got new fuses and just earthed it to some metal behind the head unit, its working now, i guess you just cant earth it to your ciggie lighter lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:54 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

93_eb_fairmont wrote:
lowie57 wrote:
hey all. when down to autobarn and got some new fuses, the guy told me you can earth it to any metal part of the car, so i wired it up to an empty screw hole and it works.

Now i have myself an amp wiring kit. Ive got the Sound plugs in no problems, but im not sure how to connect up the power. im guessing i have to drill thru the fire wall? if so where is the best place to drill? and also there is a very thin wire i have to connect up to the amp aswell. it has something to do with the power, where do i install that wire? and im assuming the earth cable i put where ever i can earth it. This is my first amp install by the way

Just left of the brake booster, there should be a empty hole with a plug in it, use this for your thick amp power cable, however if yours is a manual, the clutch cable will be in this hole, obviousely feed it from the engine bay into the cabin. If you have a manual, feed it from the cabin into the engine bay through the bonnet release. I think the thin wire you're talking about is going to be accessory power for the amp. To get this, take out your stereo again, and splice it into the accessory power wire from that (should be red on the cd player side) then run it to the amp. Then yeah earth and thats it


yea im pretty sure thats the wire i meant. what does that wire actually do?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 399

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: '62 mercury/au xr6/zh 'lane

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

lowie57 wrote:
93_eb_fairmont wrote:
lowie57 wrote:
hey all. when down to autobarn and got some new fuses, the guy told me you can earth it to any metal part of the car, so i wired it up to an empty screw hole and it works.

Now i have myself an amp wiring kit. Ive got the Sound plugs in no problems, but im not sure how to connect up the power. im guessing i have to drill thru the fire wall? if so where is the best place to drill? and also there is a very thin wire i have to connect up to the amp aswell. it has something to do with the power, where do i install that wire? and im assuming the earth cable i put where ever i can earth it. This is my first amp install by the way

Just left of the brake booster, there should be a empty hole with a plug in it, use this for your thick amp power cable, however if yours is a manual, the clutch cable will be in this hole, obviousely feed it from the engine bay into the cabin. If you have a manual, feed it from the cabin into the engine bay through the bonnet release. I think the thin wire you're talking about is going to be accessory power for the amp. To get this, take out your stereo again, and splice it into the accessory power wire from that (should be red on the cd player side) then run it to the amp. Then yeah earth and thats it


yea im pretty sure thats the wire i meant. what does that wire actually do?

Triggers a relay so the amp is only on when the car is on, otherwise it will constantly be on and drain the battery every day. You dont need accessory wires, you can just run an on/off switch but acc power is reccommended so you dont orget one day then have a flat battery.

 

_________________

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

awesome, cheers for the tips guys, ill go have a crack at it now. wish me luck =]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 3:56 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just scratch the paint off the metal frame that holds the H/U into place, it will do the trick and you won't have earthing issues if it has good contact.

However I don't think the Earth is the issue, the Head unit will just turn off once the earth wire becomes loose while you drive...so if this hasn't happened then it may not be the earth wire.

I think you may have the Accessories with Continuous Power wires mixed up. So, for example, if you have connected the Continues Power wire of the H/U to the Accessories wire of the car, the H/U will lose it's memory every time you turn your car off.

Double check your wiring...and when you do double check your wiring, make sure you unplug the negative terminal from your battery before you short something else out and blow the whole unit.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:03 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 399

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: '62 mercury/au xr6/zh 'lane

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Should be dark green/yellow to yellow for constant power
dark blue/white to red for acc power. Think phongus is right

 

_________________

How many bears could Bear Grylls grill if Bear Grylls could grill bears?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Head Unit power problem
Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:10 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 321

Joined: 17th Nov 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XT Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i will have to have a look tomorrow as its a bit late now. yea i tried multiple earths but it still loses its memory, ill double check the wiring tomorrow
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names