Fordmods Logo

High Series Cluster in a Fairmont. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 2823

Joined: 26th Jul 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont II

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Search function does not work at the moment but i was wondering what is involved in the swap.
I have a High Series Cluster and i can see it has 2 extra connections...
Does the Fairmont have the plugs to plug into the High Series Cluster or do i have to add to my loom?

Any help would be great.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

its in the tech doc section, but not in the submitted forum. most of the tech docs are located at

"Resources" at the top page, "tech docs".

documents.php?d=73
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 2823

Joined: 26th Jul 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont II

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks. i didnt think to look at the dec docos.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 2823

Joined: 26th Jul 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont II

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

What will happen if i plug the High Series Cluster in a Fairmont without adding the new loom?
Will everything work except for the added features?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

It won't just plug in.

The pins are are different shape/size on the left.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

PIMP_LTD recently fitted a fairlane cluster in his EB/EF Mont, might pay to ask him a few questions
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

PIMP_LTD also installed the dash loom from a Fairlane, which made it nice and easy for him. If you read the doco it cleary shows what is involved. I have done this mod myself and it takes a fair bit of time and dedication to get it all to work.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 3:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

i have half done the job to my car i called ford today as removing the door s**t is anoying me they want $120 each for them , i think i will just reomve them from my fairlane lol .

i am thinking about earthing the door switch inside the door so then i only have to run one wire to the cluster as i belive the other wire just connects to a common earth in the loom anyway same with the curticy light

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 4:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

The difficulty with earthing to the door, is that there usually is not an earth wire already present in the door. There may be an earth wire if you have the Ghia Door Lamps from factory.

Earthing to the door shell is not a good option as it would then rely on the connection to the car at the hinges, which would be tempermental at best.

It really is just as easy to run two wires as one. Just tape them together.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: High Series Cluster in a Fairmont.
Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 5:54 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

Thanks Ben makes since now. Regarding the lights on the door have to wire them up too lol, might run 3 wires as I want to keep it clean and simple

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:58 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names