Fordmods Logo

High Series Cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: High Series Cluster
Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 12:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1302

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Location: Allmods suck so do viruses
WA, Australia

I Have finily got my fairlane high series cluster
wicked thanks to krytox

I'm having some problems now she all plugged in the otherside loom has been cut off now when i turn on my head lights the LCD Screen on the cluster disapears and the gear positioner in the middle goes off aswell

Cheers
Danny

 

_________________

Your all a bunch of f**k Heads delete this f**k account stupid useless C*** who run this site cant even sell something useless wankers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

have you read the doco on installing a high series cluster ?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:28 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

If its the problem as fitting a Fairmont one to a GLi/Futura, then you need to solder on a resistor onto the back of the circuit board.

Thats my guess.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

The resistor will be missing for the odo, not sure about the gear mimic panel though. There is no documented position for the high series cluster resistor, SNAP had worked out that it could be positioned external to the cluster anyway. Give him a pm perhaps.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 10:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Bear in mind that this is theory:
Adding the LCD dimming resistor:
The resistor is of the same specs as discussed in
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14 , 47 ohm 1watt, use this doco for the pin out information as well.
The good news here is that you dont need to dismantle the instrument cluster to insert the resistor.
1. Remove the dash surround, and access the RH (right hand) 20 pin cluster plug.
2. Locate pin 19 which is the earth (black wire) & check continuity between it and earth to confirm.
3. Locate pin 16 which is black/white (-ve LCD illumination).
4. Strip a small section of these two wires, and solder the resistor across them, do not cut the wires.
5. Suitably insulate the solder connections.
6. Insert the plug into the cluster.
7. Test, and if all okay,
8. Reinstall the dash surround.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Happy wrote:
have you read the doco on installing a high series cluster ?

pretty detailed....now i just need the cluster :P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1302

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Location: Allmods suck so do viruses
WA, Australia

Happy wrote:
have you read the doco on installing a high series cluster ?


Yes i have and it was very helpful

 

_________________

Your all a bunch of f**k Heads delete this f**k account stupid useless C*** who run this site cant even sell something useless wankers

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 1:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
Bear in mind that this is theory:
Adding the LCD dimming resistor:
The resistor is of the same specs as discussed in
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14 , 47 ohm 1watt, use this doco for the pin out information as well.
The good news here is that you dont need to dismantle the instrument cluster to insert the resistor.
1. Remove the dash surround, and access the RH (right hand) 20 pin cluster plug.
2. Locate pin 19 which is the earth (black wire) & check continuity between it and earth to confirm.
3. Locate pin 16 which is black/white (-ve LCD illumination).
4. Strip a small section of these two wires, and solder the resistor across them, do not cut the wires.
5. Suitably insulate the solder connections.
6. Insert the plug into the cluster.
7. Test, and if all okay,
8. Reinstall the dash surround.


47 ohms dims it a fair bit. slightly less would be optimal, otherwise that method is fine. we just shorted those pins so it didnt dim at all, just personal choice

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 1:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Just depends how much more load you put on the BEM dimming circuit by reducing the resistor size - it may reduce the life of those components.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 946

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA Falcon & G220 Lane

Location: Edgewater
WA, Australia

i have a EA s pack with the NA fairy dash(climate control ect) is it still possible to still use the old analog cluster is stead of the digi type?

 

_________________

4.0lt Balanced Bottom End, ACL Race Internals, Rspec4 Cam, BPT Swichchip, PH4480, 2.5' Lukey, Scorcher Bodykit, T5 Manual
237RWHP
Image

frd906 wrote:
LOLLOLLOLLOLOLLOLLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names