Fordmods Logo

How do you add wires to the cluster plug? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: How do you add wires to the cluster plug?
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

How do I add wires to the instrument cluster plugs? And how do I know which is what number?
I need to add a wire to pin 8 on the left hand side for the fog lights and to pin 3 on the right hand side for the low coolant sensor.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

undo the plug, get a flat jewlers screwdriver, and gently pry the tabs on the side and lift the centre of the white sealer out, u should be left with the plug with wires firmly intact, and one clip about 2 centimetres away, once this is done, you can add ur wire
to remove a wire intact:
you use an even smaller screwdriver and insert it in the little hole above the contact and lever the lock up whilst pulling the wire you want. its an idea to disconnect the power source JUST in case you poke the screwdiver in too far and short it to its buddy beside!
good luck!
hope this helps.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Get the doco and look at what wires are in what plugs. Then just figure it out;

ie the blue wire in plug 4 and plug 5 has a green wire, you should be able to find those two easily. Just an example.

As for adding wires, as normal put the wire in and the it should be held in by a force.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:49 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

use the force

When adding a TC to my cluster plug (pin1 to pin 14 on the cluster), all I did was 'tin' the wire, and jam it in the plug, as I inserted it into the cluster, hasn't budged since.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:05 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Wrap enough tape around it and it will stay.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:33 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

didn't even bother with that, it's held in with magical frictional forces. And it's stood the test of time (and my driving). So it's all good.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 5:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

data_mine wrote:
didn't even bother with that, it's held in with magical frictional forces. And it's stood the test of time (and my driving). So it's all good.
Your kidding! Every time my clustrer comes out I struggle vailiantly to keep the added in TC data line in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 5:33 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What if I drop some superglue or something into the hole where the wire goes, reckon that would work ok and keep it in place?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 5:42 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah, the wire falls out when I unplug the connector. But it's never given me trouble when it's plugged in - ie. it's never fallen out without me doing something to it.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah mine does that hangs in when Im driving, but when clsuter is out its a struggle.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names