Fordmods Logo

how do you disable speed limiter on EF model ???? 

 

Page 2 of 5 [ 62 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

how about anyone doing those speeds on a public road find a very tall cliff and drive off it.

Save other road users and if your lucky you'll get to 180km/h before hitting the bottom.

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: how do you disable speed limiter on EF model ????
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 839

Joined: 10th Sep 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: V8 Falcon, Nissan Patrol

Location: Brisbane, Bouncing off 5800RPM
QLD, Australia

FairmontXR6 wrote:
ATKINS wrote:
Any of you Ford lovers answer this question ?????
180 just doesn't cut it......


Where do you go faster than 180km/hr???


Like I said/asked.

Where will you be able to get to 180km/hr?

 

_________________

1993 Ford Fairmont EB II 5.0L V8 Wagon
1992 Nissan Patrol TI 4.2L Diesel 4x4 Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 617

Joined: 18th Mar 2008

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BAII XR6T

Location: Silverdale
NSW, Australia

My pop has a property out at Inverell which has an old runway of sorts, had alot of fun going down that, got mine my AU to 220 before i had to start braking

 

_________________

FOR SALE BAII XR6 TURBO

Build Thread StrawbZ AU XR6 & BAII XR6T

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 506

Joined: 3rd Sep 2007

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

I always thought that the limiter was in the instrument cluster! :shock: But I don’t see the need to go any faster…. Unless you are planning to do a high speed chase or something stupid. I have a Futura and think 180 is more than fast enough. :wink:

 

_________________

Image
Falcon Build http://www.fordmods.com/post1285079.html#p1285079

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hmm this remind me of that young guy overseas in his dads BMW who removed the limiter and broke into a runway with 3 mates one of which was his birthday, went too fast for what he could handle went up over a safety mound flipped and rolled the car, killed all 4 of them...

what he achieved? killing 3 of his mates, destroying 4 families, countless friends and alot of public money having all the medical and police out there to clan up the mess


why the f**k do you want to do this s**t? its d***head like you who kill people. you shouldnt have a license or a car

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:09 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 172

Joined: 8th Sep 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: '79 XD Falcon Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Serious question, who cares what the top speed is, isn't it much more interesting to get it to accelerate quicker and then test that on the 1/4 mile or on a race track, where you get a time slip as well as no worries about getting a speeding ticket or perhaps even losing your license or car or even worse?

Who cares if a car can do, say, 230km/h if you can't get up to that without using a private runway or something like that? I'd rather have a car that tops out at say 170km/h but can get close to that speed in a 1/4 mile, and would rather have the time slip to prove it.

Feel free to disagree with me, flame me, whatever, my 10c worth.

 

_________________

http://www.xfords.com

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 167

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: R34 GTR

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yes BUT your 1/4 mile time slip also shows the SPEED alongside the time of your run across the finish line. So if your main aim is to impress people with that piece of paper........you won't. Because they'll see you've just got gear ratio changes....and not real power.......due to the fact u will have a low time......but also a LOW SPEED.

The upside of this is, indeed, you will have a fast accelerating car......and that feels good..........if your not planning to do much (if any) highway driving. :wink:

 

_________________

LUMPY-6

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

but why the need to go more then 180kph? if you havnt won the race by then GIVE UP!!!

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

efmarek wrote:
yes BUT your 1/4 mile time slip also shows the SPEED alongside the time of your run across the finish line. So if your main aim is to impress people with that piece of paper........you won't. Because they'll see you've just got gear ratio changes....and not real power.......due to the fact u will have a low time......but also a LOW SPEED.


wtf?

To be successful on the drag strip you must have power, and you must have the car gearing setup correctly.

So i guess a dyno queen is what makes a quick car? :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 167

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: R34 GTR

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

what u said makes no sense pal.

 

_________________

LUMPY-6

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

efmarek wrote:
what u said makes no sense pal.


LOL .....

you say a quick time on the track isnt respectable if theyve got short diff gearing

Was pointing out how stupid your comment was
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 167

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: R34 GTR

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

anyone can just change the diff gears!!....hence, NOT RESPECTABLE (as u put it)


A truely Powerful/Torquey engine........."RESPECTABLE"!!!!

 

_________________

LUMPY-6

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

theres more parts to a car than just an engine.

But anyway, back to giving the thread starter a lecture about speed limiters.....if he's still here?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:09 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 47

Joined: 1st Mar 2006

Location: Perth, Back of Wanneroo
WA, Australia

Im looking at removing my limiter, well even just bumping it up 10-20k's

My EF has 3.9's in the diff, and it is a big piss off when im bouncing speed limiter at 140 for the last part of the track.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont
2006 Model Pioneer Headunit
Twin 12 Inch subs
Boot install in progress
Plenty of Mods planned
Fully Adjustable Shiftkit
Lukey 2 1/2 Inch exhaust one muffler, no resonator

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

try getting your speedo re-calibrated then as the SPEED limiter goes by SPEED, so it shouldnt cut out at 140 unless you didnt get the speedo calibrated to suit the new diff gears

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 5  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names