Fordmods Logo

Immobilised NC Fairlane 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Immobilised NC Fairlane
Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 9:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 75

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Dec 2006

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

Can anyone verify that the fix to start the Smartlock immobilised car is to leave ignition ON for 30 minutes? Then wait till the flashing led to stop flashing.
That's what it says in published documents by Matti.

Thanks guys.
flatstrap
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

yep thats right, done it myself a while ago

reading your other post, are you sure its smartlock??

sounds like you have an aftermarket alarm, removing the dash cluster shouldn't upset smartlock in any way...

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 75

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Dec 2006

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

I cannot be sure its Smarlock. There is however a bracket that may have held an alarm of some sort located on the suspension tower. If this indicates a now absent AM alarm system, why is it still affecting the car's electronics?
I thank you thus far for your help.
Flatstrap
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

flatstrap wrote:
I cannot be sure its Smarlock. There is however a bracket that may have held an alarm of some sort located on the suspension tower. If this indicates a now absent AM alarm system, why is it still affecting the car's electronics?
I thank you thus far for your help.
Flatstrap


I suggest you back trace your steps of what you did a few days ago when your car became immobilised.

I think if you look closely under your dash you will find an aftermarket immobiliser, or some wiring for it. The previous owner way have removed the alarm but kept the immobiliser.

If you do locate the wiring or the immobiliser try making sure that it is secure, you may have just disturbed a plug in some way

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 75

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Dec 2006

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

Thanks for your quick reply.
I did trace back to what I did and now it's doing something different.
When ignition is switched on, the hazards come on for 27 blinks and stops; The hazard switch is in the inoperative position (in). I seem to think it's trying to reset itself. But still no starter contact.The led still blinking continuously.
Any clues?
Thanks,
flatstrap
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Immobilised NC Fairlane
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 75

Posts: 10

Joined: 23rd Dec 2006

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

All is forgiven! I love my Fairlane again.
The system did reset itself and I've just come back from a run around the block. All systems go!
Thank you fordzatmyplace and the forum for making it possible. Happy New year to all!
Flatstrap
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names