Fordmods Logo

installing a trip computer 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: installing a trip computer
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Location: GIRRAWHEEN
WA, Australia

Can anyone tell me how to install trip computer in dashboard in a ef please
Gli wgn 1996

Last edited by enforcer on Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 174

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUI Fairmont

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Xyphoid done a doco on how to do a EA-ED trip comp before the site crashed. Can't imagine there wouldn't be too much diference, but he'd be the man to talk too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

I think the doco is back! :shock:

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:04 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 204

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Kurri Kurri
NSW, Australia

omgg how schwwet lol...i did notice the return of docos...tho i already have a trippy...well done on the docs being back :D whoot
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh xyphoid did a doco but its helps having the pics. i will check myt files for the pics and upload them.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:42 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah, we are having troubles with the Image Processor for the docos.... (Very loooong story).

We should have something worked out by the end of the week, though its kind of hard to put an exact time with all the stuff that is happening lately....

I had placed about 8 Docos back up on the weekend, and there are another 6 or so almost ready to go back up.

You can tell if the doco is there by checking the docos Version Number.
V3.0 Docos have been checked for accuracy, and are up to date.
V1.0 Docos work, but I havent checked them to see if there is any info missing
V0.0 Docos are empty

Hope this helps

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 174

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AUI Fairmont

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I need the wirering diagram for installing a Trip Comp in to my ED. I know what has to be done for instalation, just need to know what wires go where, Ta!
Its on my To-Do list for my next holidays :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:51 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

I think I may have the doco for installation for the trip on the ef.I had printed out a hard copy to help with the installation of mine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 6:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 107

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

eagleaus wrote:
I think I may have the doco for installation for the trip on the ef.I had printed out a hard copy to help with the installation of mine.


Was it hard to do?? I have an EL Futura Classic and was told the plug is already there behind the clock. Is it as simple as just plugging it in and off I go??

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

He[X]eN wrote:
eagleaus wrote:
I think I may have the doco for installation for the trip on the ef.I had printed out a hard copy to help with the installation of mine.


Was it hard to do?? I have an EL Futura Classic and was told the plug is already there behind the clock. Is it as simple as just plugging it in and off I go??


Nah there is a data line to the instrument cluster

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

Instead of starting a new thread, my globe has gone in my trippy, seems bloody hard to get the surround out? what kind of globe is it? and once i force/break the surround out, is it easy to replace the globe?.,
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 5:14 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah, the globe is easy to replace.
ITs a 2 Watt wedge type.
The globe just pops out of its holder.

Or Alternatively you can get the globe and holder for less than $4 at Ford spare parts

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 10:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 2

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EF, ED

Location: Bayswater
WA, Australia

Eagleaus, would you mind emailing me the doc of the installation. We are going to be helping enforcer put this into his car.
snuzzels@msn.com
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 4:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 2

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EF, ED

Location: Bayswater
WA, Australia

Thanks Eagleaus, for sending me the doc. We are doing the install today, It was a great help.
Dave :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 9:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 15

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EBII 2

Location: NSW
NSW, Australia

EDSteve wrote:
I need the wirering diagram for installing a Trip Comp in to my ED. I know what has to be done for instalation, just need to know what wires go where, Ta!
Its on my To-Do list for my next holidays :D


Not that hard at all. if you have a clock there even easier. you can use the existing wiring. if not you can spice the power and dimmer from cluster or the radio loom.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names