Fordmods Logo

installing cruise into eb! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: installing cruise into eb!
Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:02 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 230

Joined: 22nd Jul 2007

Ride: eb xr6 and EL Falcon

Location: Lang Lang
VIC, Australia

hi all. how hard is it and how would i go trying to put cruise control into my eb series 2? i have a ford steering wheel mounted cruise control out of another eb allready, just dont know how to hook it up. any help would be great :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:35 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 115

Joined: 5th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you will need all the other cruise components, two bits in the engine bay
behind the washer bottle which is a vacuum motor, the vac line that joins it to the throttle control on the rh side of engine bay behind the booster

the brake pedal switch

the steering wheel with buttons

the speed controller, located under you console.

first thing to do is check and see if you have the cabin wiring loom to accept cruise, if you have power windows or abs you should have this loom, remove your console and look under the carpet if you have 2 plugs in there ( one white plug one black) you have the correct loom

(Someone here may be able to tell you how to add just the cruise wiring I havent sat down and looked at it yet)

If you do not have this loom you need to change the cabin loom this runs from the rh side of the dash all the way down to your taillights and to all four doors.

the engine bay loom should have one 3 pin plug behind the washer bottle for the cruise vac motor, down by your brake pedal there is another 2 pin plug for a second brake light switch

the cruise wiring is already integrated into the dash and engine bay looms on an EB 2

thats if you want factory cruise
or alternatively there are some good aftermarket units you can use

hope this helps

Kev

 

_________________

Succesful trades with blur1, Felony, Jinxed, Dansedgli, Commando, Peyote, WAGHOON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: installing cruise into eb!
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Hi, I installed the cruise into my ED about 6 months ago, and I didn't need the loom to be changed, as it was only a handful of wires needed, so no big deal.

Obviously, you need the steering wheel, which you have. Also you need;

*Cruise Computer. (When you go to wrecker to but, the EA have them under the dash, above throttle pedal, or EB ED have them in the centre console. Make sure you get a length of the loom plug that comes with it (even 10-20cm will do) as it's the only plug that can fit it.

*Cruise vacuum pump. This sits behind the washer bottle on passenger side, and can be seen attached right near the left bonnet strut with 3 8mm nuts. Again, take a length of that wire as well.

*Cruise cable actuator. This sits on the opposite side of the vacuum pump. Again, you can see this attached with same 3 8mm nuts near the right bonnet strut. There is a vacuum hose going between these two items, with a t-piece that goes down to brake pedal. Pull this hose out as well.

*And also, the cruise cable. This one has to be EAII to ED multi-point and 4spd auto specific, as the 3spd cable is slightly shorter, and won't reach.

*Brake switch. Sitting just under the brake light switch.

If you get all of these (mine cost $70 for whole lot at my wrecker), I will get you a diagram of the wiring from my workshop manual, and I'll explain how to connect it up. It took me an hour, from steering wheel, to wiring, to connecting up in engine bay.

Let me know if you want to go ahead.

Cheers,

Mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: installing cruise into eb!
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 3:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Sorry, forgot to mention, my ED had no electrics, as it's a GLi, but has ABS, and had no wiring in it. But like I said, very easy to setup, as it's a totally independent system of anything in the car. The only part that integrates into something is the steering wheel, as it uses one wire from the horn relay (the buttons have different levels of resistance, and the cruise computer knows which one your pressing due to these resistance levels).

Cheers,

Mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 115

Joined: 5th Feb 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks for adding to that Mark, since you know all the techy terms of things

last car I wrecked was an ED GLi with ABS and had all the extra connectors for power windows and cruise so I assumed it would be the case accross the board, my mistake thanks for clearing it up

I also figuered someone had gone to the trouble that you have to wire up cruise on its own, Ive gone with the full cabin loom change as Im doing power windows and cruise, was easier to spoil myself with both than do it the other way

Kev

 

_________________

Succesful trades with blur1, Felony, Jinxed, Dansedgli, Commando, Peyote, WAGHOON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Schmee wrote:
Thanks for adding to that Mark, since you know all the techy terms of things

last car I wrecked was an ED GLi with ABS and had all the extra connectors for power windows and cruise so I assumed it would be the case accross the board, my mistake thanks for clearing it up

I also figuered someone had gone to the trouble that you have to wire up cruise on its own, Ive gone with the full cabin loom change as Im doing power windows and cruise, was easier to spoil myself with both than do it the other way

Kev


Nah thats cool mate. I thought it was strange that one of my mates had an EBII GLi and he fit cruise to it and he just plugged it in and changed wheel and it just worked!!

Same as the electric windows. I have no plugs in mine buy his did! Thats part of the reason I haven't fit them to mine. (VERY JEALOUS :evil: :evil:)

So whatever the thinking is behind the way the cars are made with all of the plugs and others without is a mystery, but oh well.

Cheers,

Mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i got an aftermarket kit in my EA im wrecking lol there is ALOT of wires

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 10

Joined: 26th Dec 2007

Location: Bairnsdale
VIC, Australia

Mark, sorry to bring up an old thread, i am about to install factory cruise to my EB2 that has no loom, are you able to help me with some wiring info?

Matt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

jet-6,
Mark may not have an alert to this post anymore, try hitting the PM button on one of his posts and send him a PM, he'll get that.
Cheers,
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:51 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 10

Joined: 26th Dec 2007

Location: Bairnsdale
VIC, Australia

EDIT: stop looking everyone, got myself a complete workshop manual today, i have all the details i need, just a few parts required and im home free

Cheers Matt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Way to go Matt, should be a breeze now. I did the loom swap so I couldn't help you.
Paul

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 10

Joined: 26th Dec 2007

Location: Bairnsdale
VIC, Australia

Paul i picked up the rest of the parts from the wreckers today, all the the engine bay side of things are done, got a second vac switch for the clutch and chopped up a EA fairmont loom for the parts, need to make up a short loom and hook it in, its gunna be pretty easy apart from finding a cruise momo centre!!!!


Also have the trip computer to put in at the same time, so all is good

Cheers Matt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 10

Joined: 26th Dec 2007

Location: Bairnsdale
VIC, Australia

Nice work to me, hooked me up a MOMO cruise wheel today!!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1863

Joined: 30th Apr 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

jet-6 wrote:
Nice work to me, hooked me up a MOMO cruise wheel today!!!!!


Good work! What'd that set you back?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 10

Joined: 26th Dec 2007

Location: Bairnsdale
VIC, Australia

$331 including post, there dear little buggers, but you have to grab them while you can

But ill recover some coin back when i sell my non cruise MOMO, there still getting a few bucks too!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:29 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names