Fordmods Logo

installing head unit into ba falcon 2005(please help) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: installing head unit into ba falcon 2005(please help)
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 5:58 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 20

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just purchased a head unit for my falcon only to be told by the guys at strathfield that it cannot be installed on my car. could someone please shed some light on this

any ideas fellas
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 6:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

Not in the conventional way but there is another way around it wiring it up as an auxilary componant or something along that line

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 6:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 20

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

what sort of problems will i experience regarding the installation process. where to position the unit
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 6:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 154

Joined: 10th Dec 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2004 BA XR6T

Location: PERTH
WA, Australia

you install the head unit in the tissue box holder..... near ur gear leaver,.....
and ya gotta run all new wires 4 the power. n the speakers you gotta run new wires 4 them 2.
easy as..

 

_________________

04 BA XR6t auto
93 eb falcon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1298

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Ride: BA 3v ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It's easy to do, the guys at strathfield are idiots and i wouldn't even bother asking them. Four power wires as mentioned above, 3 from the cig lighter (better if you run a new ground) and i got another one from the drivers foot well and made everything just plug in so no cutting wires :) Then just need to run new speaker wires and your done, though front speakers have a plug on the door so cutting and soldering it required.

 

_________________

www.bseries.com.au/punktured

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 22, 2008 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

out of curiousity, why do you have to run new speaker cables? cant you just remove the original speaker cables from the back of the ICC and splice them into the new headunit? will save a fair amount of stuffing around thats all

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:19 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names