Fordmods Logo

installing mid series cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: installing mid series cluster
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:15 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

im thinking of putting a mid series cluster in my futura.

i read through the techo doco on it and just wanted to be clear on a couple of things before i jump into it.

if im using a chaser cluster do i still need to solder in the resistor for the lcd screens to work?

apart from the soldering in the resistor, is the only other part i have to change the oil pressure switch for an oil pressure sensor?

Is everything already there for the battery voltage indicator to work?

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by Mash85 on Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 53

Posts: 487

Joined: 8th Apr 2006

Ride: ba xls ute

Location: tweed heads
NSW, Australia

no its only faimonts one the chasers you dont have to and the tickfords dont
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:02 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

ok sweet. so, the only other thing to change is the pressure switch and it should all work?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:26 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

You do realise that the high series cluster in the Fairlane one? And thats it a hell of alot more then plug and play?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:33 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

oh ok, my mistake. its the xr/fairmont ones im talking about.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:02 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

anyone?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:29 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

ok, you can install an XR or Chaser (police) cluster
and all you need to do is add the Oil Sender.

If your installing a Fairmont, Fairmont Ghia cluster, you need to ADD the resistor AND the oil sender!

the resistor takes all of 3 minutes to install.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeh Krytox is right. XR will plug and play bar the oil gauge which you need hte sender for. Fairmont you need the the resistor as well.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names