Fordmods Logo

Instrument Cluster Not Working 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Instrument Cluster Not Working
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:50 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

While trying to install a trip computer into my EF Falcon, everything lights up but the odometre and dials no longer work?
And the trip computer doesn't work also.

Any Suggestions?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Sure you connected the data line to the right spot? remember the plug needs to upside down to locate pin order.

Check all fuses, including the ones in the engine bay.
Double your handywork, and then replace the fuse if you find a blown one.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

yeah the data line plug is fine and all the fuses are fine.

could it be that the wire for the data is not good enough? and i couldnt find a wire for the LCD dimmer signal?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:35 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

is the plug in securely?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:39 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

yeah and it is in far enough to make contact.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:44 pm 
VIC Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1167

Joined: 6th Jan 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ed

Location: Mooroolbark
VIC, Australia

is there a fuse in the cluster at all?

 

_________________

94 White ED Wagon
eaton M112 supercharger, lowered a tad, extractors, 2.5" exhaust, T5 , custom SureCam supercharger cam, 3.45 lokka, 2 piece tailshaft, poyair bags in the back, TSS front Skirt, Sprint skirts, XR wagon spoiler.
soon to get: AU diff, upc 330mm brakes, Vapor LPG injection.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

does your cig lighter /demister lights etc light up?

Did you cut any brown wires?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:57 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

yeah i cut the brown wire going to the demister to connect to the demister and the park lamp wire together. but the demister light still works.

and their is no power going thought the yellow and black wire anymore??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:02 pm 
VIC Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1167

Joined: 6th Jan 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ed

Location: Mooroolbark
VIC, Australia

if there is no power where the was power ide say u have blown a fuse. check them with a multi meter not just look at them

 

_________________

94 White ED Wagon
eaton M112 supercharger, lowered a tad, extractors, 2.5" exhaust, T5 , custom SureCam supercharger cam, 3.45 lokka, 2 piece tailshaft, poyair bags in the back, TSS front Skirt, Sprint skirts, XR wagon spoiler.
soon to get: AU diff, upc 330mm brakes, Vapor LPG injection.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:08 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

we just made a new connection with the cig/lighter and the trip computer shows the time very fanitly which is because i havent found the wire to connect the LCD dimmer signal, but all my gauges wont work still, eg, speedo, RPM's, fuel, temp and how many km's my car has done, the display for that lights up but nothing is shown..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

I'd be concentrating on the Batt fuse in the engine bay, and the INS BAT fuse (3rd vertical top row)

There must be an error in your wiring for it to blow.

Also did you cut the white wire on the Trip Computer plug, if not, do it.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

yeah i cut the white wire

shouldnt everything be out if the batt fuse blew? and i can start the car fine.

Last edited by ChickenFeet on Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

i put everything back to how it was before i started and all the dials still doesnt work...


is the right hand side connector the one that makes all those work?, ill check again in the light tomorrow about my wiring, but imm 99% sure that isnt the problem, ill keep you posted,

thanks for the help so far to fella's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:22 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

all fixed, there was a fuse that was broken just at the top, very hard to see... thanks people for your help.

the falcon is running again
:):):):):):)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

which fuse exactly? It may help other people.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names