Fordmods Logo

Instrument cluster problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Instrument cluster problems
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 101

Joined: 2nd Sep 2006

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Murwillumbah
NSW, Australia

Hi, i recently purchased an EL Fairmont Ghia instrument cluster with only 48,000km on it for $20. Lastnight i installed it into my EL GLI. There were no problems with the installation but the coolant level indicator kept flashin so i removed the globe. My problem is that whenever you turn the car off the Kilometers reset to 48,913 i think from memory, so you lose whatever kilometres you have done. Is there a way i can fix the problem so or will i have to put the old cluster back in? Or can i put the screen from my old cluster into the new one? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

 

_________________

Myspace - www.myspace.com/theboss_290gt

MSN - theboss_290gt@hotmail.com

- Add me

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

$20 what a bargain, the eprom is had it most likely, you should be swapping that part anyway to retain your cars orignal reading.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/documents.php?doc=14

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:43 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

The GLi's didn't get a coolant level sensor, so add one of those and the flashing light will be fixed. As for the EEPROM, sounds like it's stuffed. But as said, to keep things nice an legal it shoul dbe swapped for your original one.

It can be done yourself if your GOOD with a soldering iron (it's a surface mount component, very difficult to do - I've done it twice). Or a electronics repair place will be able to do it cheaply.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:04 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 101

Joined: 2nd Sep 2006

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Murwillumbah
NSW, Australia

Ok, i think i know of a place in Murwillumbah that can do it. Thanks for all of your help. As for the coolant level sensor, i just removed the globe and swapped it with the one that lights up the screen for the kilometres as its globe was blown. Ill get a coolant sensor one day, as well as an oil pressure sensor.

 

_________________

Myspace - www.myspace.com/theboss_290gt

MSN - theboss_290gt@hotmail.com

- Add me

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Carn dodgy brothers mechicanics!

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

I think the reason why this cluster only has 48,000 km on it is becuase the EEPROM has been stuffed for ages

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:18 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 101

Joined: 2nd Sep 2006

Ride: ED Fairmont

Location: Murwillumbah
NSW, Australia

Apparntley it was given to this bloke by his mate who worked at a Ford dealer. Still, if i get it working correctly its still a good buy. Shouldnt cost to much to fix.

 

_________________

Myspace - www.myspace.com/theboss_290gt

MSN - theboss_290gt@hotmail.com

- Add me

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:44 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

About $10 if its just an EEPROM swap.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:45 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names