Fordmods Logo

LCD screen into speedo and tacho 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: LCD screen into speedo and tacho
Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Has anyone seen the codes book on ebay to turn your small lcd into a tacho, speedo, etc.. i spent the 5 bucks and got it. Its prolly common knowledge amongst all the xperts here,
so for the amatures here's how for ef/el

1. Insert the car key without turning it.

2. Press and hold the trip meter reset button for 10 seconds

3. While holding the reset button, turn the car key to the ON position and press the reset button 3 times in quick succesion, keep pressing the reset button on the third press untill the seatbelt warning light goes off.

4. The trip meter should blank out and after 10 seconds, the word FORD should flash.

5. Press the reset button to enter the test mode

6. Hold the reset button for 1 second for the next mode; hold the button for 2 seconds for the previous mode.

7. Hold the button until the trip meter display returns to normal to exit the test mode. If you don't exit the same mode will appear on the cars restart.



I have figured out mode 3 is RPM, and KM/ph.. on one of the others show what gear you are in..
Other functions include water temp, battery voltage..
I think there is 15 modes.. if anyone can figure which is which it would be much appreciated..
It may take a few goes to get it to work, timing is important..


---------------------------------------------------------------------------
AU
1. Insert the car key and leave it in the off position

2.Turn the key to the ON position

3.Press the trip meter reset button for 1 second and then release for 1 second. repeat for 5 times. hence, a total of 10 seconds.

4. Leave the reset button release for 5 seconds

5. Press the reset button for 7 seconds

6.Repeat step 4-5 once more to enter the test mode

7. Press the reset button for 11 seconds to exit this mode..

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ford EF/EL Falcon, XR, Fairmont Instrument Cluster Diagnostic Mode

This document describes the Falcon EF/EL Dash Diagnostic Information that is provided when the Dash is placed in Diagnostic mode
The information that is returned is displayed using the Odometer display area, and includes the information that is transferred on the ECU bus
This includes Fuel level, Fuel consumption, oil pressure, Coolant Temperature, RPM, Vehicle speed, Gear lever position, and many others

Entering Diagnostic mode

The diagnostic mode can be entered by using the following method

· 1) With the ignition key in the off position, press and hold the Odometer reset knob for 10 seconds.

· 2) whilst holding the button in, switch the ignition to the on position. (Note : It is not necessary to start the car).

· 3) With the ignition on, press the odometer button 3 times in quick succession.

· 4) On the third press, hold the odometer button down, until the Seatbelt lamp is no longer illuminated.

· 5) The Odometer should blank out. After a period of 10 seconds, the display will flash FORD

· 6) Press the Odometer button again to go to the first Diagnostic mode

To view the next diagnostic mode, press the Odometer button for about 1 second

To view the previous diagnostic modes, press and hold the Odometer button for about 2 second

To Exit the Diagnostic mode, hold the Odometer Button until the Odometer display returns to normal

Diagnostic Codes

Mode
Top Line
Bottom Line

1
Petrol in Litres (No Level Buffering)
Petrol Sender Resistance (Unbuffered)

2

Coolant Temperature (Degrees C)

3
Engine RPM
Vehicle Speed (KM/H)

4
Oil Pressure (Bar, 1 decimal Point)
Battery Voltage (Volts)

5
Instant Fuel Consumption (L/100Km)
Instant Fuel Consumption (x 0.1 Litres)

6
Fuel used since Trip Avg L/100 Reset (x 0.1L)
This Value is used to calculate the Trip computer Average Fuel consumption L/100Km
Kms Travelled since Trip Avg L/100 Reset

7
Buffered Fuel Tank Level (In Litres)
Value used for Petrol Gauge
Buffered Fuel Tank Lever Sender Resistance

8

Gear Position (PNRD321)

9
Unknown - 256
Unknown - Varies from 00, 01, 02

10
Unknown - 81
Unknown - 00

11
0000
1100

12
1111
0000

13
0000
0000

14

00

15

00

16

00

17
Illuminates all segments
Illuminates all Segments

18
Blank Odometer Screen
Blank Odometer Screen



Police - (Ex Chaser) Instrument Clusters

In addition to the above diagnostic modes, the Police (Chaser) Instrument clusters also have a Speedo Calibration mode.
The Police (Ex-Chaser) instrument cluster allows re-programming of the Speedo Reading, (and consequently the Odometer), so as a Precise Speedo Reading can be made.
This also means that the Speedo can be re-calibrated, when making changes to the Factory fitted wheels, Tyre Profiles, as well as altering differential Ratios.
To determine if you have a Police (Ex Chaser) Instrument Cluster fitted, try the following Routine, to enter the calibration mode.
To Calculate Calibration figures for the Police Instrument cluster, when making the above modifications, please check the Diff and Tyre Calculator Page.

Warning : Playing with the Instrument Calibration feature will modify your Speedo, and Odometer readings.
Please be sure of the consequences of changing these settings, and also Make note of your Original Calibration Setting
This will ensure that you can return the Speedo Calibration Back to its original condition, if modified.

Entering the Police Instruments Calibration Mode - (Police EF to AU Series I models)

· 1) With the ignition key in the On position, press and hold the Odometer reset knob for 5 seconds, then release.

· 2) The Odometer will then display "SPEEDO #.#" - where #.# is the Speedo calibration Percentage, and is set to "0.0" Percent from the factory.

· 3) To increase the Percentage adjustment, Press the Odometer reset shaft for a short period of time (0.2 to 0.7 seconds). This will increase the adjustment by 0.5%

· 4) To decrease the Percentage adjustment, Press the Odometer reset shaft for a long period of time (0.8 to 4.9 seconds). This will decrease the adjustment by 0.5%

· 5) To exit the Speedo calibration mode, press and hold the Odometer Reset shaft for a period longer than 5 seconds.

Entering the Police Instruments Calibration Mode - (Police AU Series II - AUIII and BA Models)

· 1) With the ignition key in the Off position, press and hold the Odometer reset knob

· 2) Turn the Ignition Switch On, and continue to hold the Reset shaft in for 5 seconds, until the cluster enters calibration mode, (Typically 5 seconds)

· 2) The Odometer will then display "SPEEDO #.#" - where #.# is the Speedo calibration Percentage, and is set to "0.0" Percent from the factory.

· 3) To increase the Percentage adjustment, Press the Odometer reset shaft for a short period of time (0.2 to 0.7 seconds). This will increase the adjustment by 0.5%

· 4) To decrease the Percentage adjustment, Press the Odometer reset shaft for a long period of time (0.8 to 4.9 seconds). This will decrease the adjustment by 0.5%

· 5) To exit the Speedo calibration mode, press and hold the Odometer Reset shaft for a period longer than 5 seconds.



Document written by Matti on 17 Mar 2002, Copyright © 2004 Matti, all rights reserved.

(c)2002-2007 Matti Jones and Brad Evans





Hope this helps, took me a while to find it, but it is on here. Diagnostics mode isn't exactly "common knowledge" , but can be really handy :wink:

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EF/EL ones are in a Tech Doc on this site
http://fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=12
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:25 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

MMD wrote:
EF/EL ones are in a Tech Doc on this site
http://fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=12

I was wondering who would post that first.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:37 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

there is an au one as well

no idea if it the techo's

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Thanks that info wasnt included in my book.....
Is it bad to have it in these modes all the time?..
Ive had it on rpm for the last few days, than this morning all the guages went to the max, and it reset back to the odometer..

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

also i forgot to mention that when driving the LCD will say 100, and the analog guage will read 104 ish.. does that need calibration?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:21 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

anyone got the BA/BF settings?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

The digital one is right, your analogue speedo deliberately over reads. Also it'll only last 30mins, so after the 30mins the cluster will reset to normal.

+you got scammed $5.

For BA/F you need a diag scanner, and some programming know how. Lukeyson has a thread on it already.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 5:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

teveo wrote:
Thanks that info wasnt included in my book.....
Is it bad to have it in these modes all the time?..
Ive had it on rpm for the last few days, than this morning all the guages went to the max, and it reset back to the odometer..



Don't know if thats anything to do with diagnostics, I've been running mine in that mode for a couple of weeks now with no problem. As for it only lasting 30 minutes I think that either my dash might be dodgy or it could be a myth because mine hasn't reset itself, not even on a 3 hour drive. Also with the speedo, I'd trust the digital readout over the analogue.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 6:24 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Maybe an EL thing. My EL did reset itself after 30mins, or whenever you turned it off.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 8:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

yeah my ef resets itself when it feels like it,, today after 10 minutes, but it was exactly after i had to stand on the anchor cause a indian pulled out infront of me!!...
this morning it reset doing 120 on the freeway

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

mine never reset itself, its a series 1 EF
my mates used to do it all the time. his is a series 2 EF

Maybe it was one of the things changed (cant really imagine why) from series 1 to 2

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 829

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 2004 Mazda Tribute

grub73 wrote:
teveo wrote:
Thanks that info wasnt included in my book.....
Is it bad to have it in these modes all the time?..
Ive had it on rpm for the last few days, than this morning all the guages went to the max, and it reset back to the odometer..



Don't know if thats anything to do with diagnostics, I've been running mine in that mode for a couple of weeks now with no problem. As for it only lasting 30 minutes I think that either my dash might be dodgy or it could be a myth because mine hasn't reset itself, not even on a 3 hour drive. Also with the speedo, I'd trust the digital readout over the analogue.
Mine resets itself... EL...

It was very "s**t-scary" the first time it did it... I also was doing 100+ on the freeway, and all the gauges died, like the ignition was off lol.

Luckily, it all came back up like when you first start the car, and gauges reset themselves... but it was a scary few seconds.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:42 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Anyone got ba/bf yet?

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names