Fordmods Logo

LCD Screen To BA Dash 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

the icc will overlay it over your background

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

There is a wire, when grounded will show ur video, when not grounded will show normal screen. When the video is showing if you change any settings, it wil momentarily display the change i.e. volume or station or whatever then dissapear showing ur full video once more
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

JohnnyFX wrote:
So would it be possible to have the ford screen plugged in via an AUX port on my head unit?

Who would be the person/people to ask?


not without a signal converter (asl logistics sell these) the screen uses ntsc colours and frequencies, a b**ch to work with.....standard aux (video) out on a dvd player wont work without a converter
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 11:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

toymachine wrote:
JohnnyFX wrote:
So would it be possible to have the ford screen plugged in via an AUX port on my head unit?

Who would be the person/people to ask?


not without a signal converter (asl logistics sell these) the screen uses ntsc colours and frequencies, a b**ch to work with.....standard aux (video) out on a dvd player wont work without a converter


I meant the other way around, if i could show the heater/aircon screen on my alpine unit.

ill check with ASL if theres a way

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

I asked ASL and they said they cant help
i guess ill wait till i buy the screen and have a look then

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:14 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

JohnnyFX wrote:
toymachine wrote:
JohnnyFX wrote:
So would it be possible to have the ford screen plugged in via an AUX port on my head unit?

Who would be the person/people to ask?


not without a signal converter (asl logistics sell these) the screen uses ntsc colours and frequencies, a b**ch to work with.....standard aux (video) out on a dvd player wont work without a converter


I meant the other way around, if i could show the heater/aircon screen on my alpine unit.

ill check with ASL if theres a way


Havent looked into it, but with the frequencies that the stock screen uses, i say good luck :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 6:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 274

Joined: 29th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How bout installing a much smaller lcd screen under the tissue box holder, and displaying your system stats on there and video's/music on your big aftermarket screen?

 

_________________

2003 BA Fairmont Ghia V8 www.bseries.com.au/acey xr8 catback
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:41 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 75

Joined: 17th Jan 2007

Ride: Ford BA xr6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Been there, done that.
Don't use a motorised screen as my 4X4 mate wore out the plastic gears in about a year in his.
There is no way to replaced the screen as it is part of the ICC.
My carputer using the OEM ICC is still going strong now for over 18mths.
http://www.adam.com.au/rbockman

 

_________________

Roobin

Ford BA XR6 4.0L Auto, ICC Carputer, DBA Slotted Rotors, Bendix Pads, 18" Mags, BF Tail Lights, Factory CAI & VSI LPG.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

JohnnyFX wrote:
toymachine wrote:
JohnnyFX wrote:
So would it be possible to have the ford screen plugged in via an AUX port on my head unit?

Who would be the person/people to ask?


not without a signal converter (asl logistics sell these) the screen uses ntsc colours and frequencies, a b**ch to work with.....standard aux (video) out on a dvd player wont work without a converter


I meant the other way around, if i could show the heater/aircon screen on my alpine unit.

ill check with ASL if theres a way


As you heard from ASL, you can't get the factory info onto another screen. (I won't say can't, but it'd be a large expensive exercise, don't bother).

You can however, use the factory ICC screen to show video input from other sources, when you 'use' the aircon/trip comp options the factory info pops up over the video, then disappears after a bit.

As for the double din unit you've got. there's really no room for a double din unit in the dash.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

roobin wrote:
Been there, done that.
Don't use a motorised screen as my 4X4 mate wore out the plastic gears in about a year in his.
There is no way to replaced the screen as it is part of the ICC.
My carputer using the OEM ICC is still going strong now for over 18mths.
http://www.adam.com.au/rbockman

Awesome write up - 10 points!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:35 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 129

Joined: 28th Jun 2007

Ride: BF Egas Tonner

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

If you want to fit a 10" screen have a look at this link.
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/worklog ... log-7.html

The pictures of the modded icc with a 15.4" screen may give you some ideas.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:13 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 75

Joined: 17th Jan 2007

Ride: Ford BA xr6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

foggy wrote:
If you want to fit a 10" screen have a look at this link.
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/worklog ... log-7.html

The pictures of the modded icc with a 15.4" screen may give you some ideas.

Might give http://www.asllogistics.com some ideas and bring it out as a kit.
That would be great.

 

_________________

Roobin

Ford BA XR6 4.0L Auto, ICC Carputer, DBA Slotted Rotors, Bendix Pads, 18" Mags, BF Tail Lights, Factory CAI & VSI LPG.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:20 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 75

Joined: 17th Jan 2007

Ride: Ford BA xr6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

P.S.
It covers up the to air vents tho.

 

_________________

Roobin

Ford BA XR6 4.0L Auto, ICC Carputer, DBA Slotted Rotors, Bendix Pads, 18" Mags, BF Tail Lights, Factory CAI & VSI LPG.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:14 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names