Light Wiring Issues 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Light Wiring Issues
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XR8 UTE

VIC, Australia

ok im not very good at electronics so i need some help if possible please. I am trying to wire up a mid series dome light in instead of the normal single light gli's have. It has an extra green and yellow wire.

I tried to join the 2 green and yellow wires together and then connect them to the other wire that was originally there (same colour) i also connected the black and blue one up to the original.

The light didnt work, but i blew the main electronics fuse (the one that controls the locking and ingnition).

What did i do wrong? How do i fix this? Would it be expensive for me to go to an auto electricians and get it done and would it be easier?

Thanks. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways

VIC, Australia

Has anyone else successfully done this mod?

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:34 pm 
Technical Contributor

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

NSW, Australia

I'd suggest, if you don't already have one, is get yourself a Workshop Manual, be it a Gregory's, Ellery's or what ever - they are reasonably cheap. It's too hard to do electrical work (or mechanical stuff for that matter), without a decent diagram.