Fordmods Logo

MUST READ- URGENT HELP 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: MUST READ- URGENT HELP
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:57 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

:D hey, i brought an aftermarket tacho to install in my ef falcon. I took out the original cluster to put a new in with white dial and found that theres only 2 plugs down the bottom of wires that run the cluster. Can anyone tell me what bloody wire i conect my tacho to to make it work?? Any help will be apreiciated thank u

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 1085

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: BF XR Turbo

Location: Castle Hill
NSW, Australia

id suggest consulting the instructions that should have come with the tacho,, dont pull the cluster loom apart,, run a new wire from the coil.. negative side if im not mistaken,, then your cluster will still be opperational.. btw why do u want an aftermarket tacho??



-mitch

 

_________________

BF XR6T 6spd Auto. 60lb injectors, Hybrid Cooler, Custom Piping, Custom Surge Tank, Actuator.

12.3 @ 114

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ledge_lfc ... leeds or liverpool football club?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

EF Falcons have a tacho signal in the diagnostic port... i forget which pin it is but this is probably much easier than running a new wire to the coil... seeing as the EF doesnt actually have a coil per se... lol

Yeah there are two plugs but i am unsure if there is a tacho signal in there or if it is all transmitted via the data link... so go the tach pin on the diag port... ill have a poke around and see if ive got the pin you need.

I trust you plan on revving it well past 6000rpm ? :wink:

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:49 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

:shock: hey i brought the acho to pu ton my car becoz they look sik and it has a huge shift light!!!! i heard i can run it to pin or sumthin n i will work?? ledge_lfc= ledge_ lions football club, but i am a big fan of liverpool.
u know im 20 yrs old, n yeah want all da beaut stuff so i bought da tacho dat doesnt c*m wif instructions

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:03 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

BTW- that was 7th pin

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Some say sik... other say not so...

But anyways.... there's a diagnostic port near the fuse box (near driver's right knee, pull the pastic panel of an you'll see it).

It's a white plug-looking-thing with two rows of pins in there.

Bottom row, third from the right is a tacho signal.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

hey man thnaks for that. just alil more help f i can..how do i take the panel out at al m8..im a lil confused

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

hey man thnaks for that. just alil more help f i can..how do i take the panel out at al m8..im a lil confused

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 6:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

The one that covers the fuses? OK just to make sure we're on the same page... it's underneath the aircon vent which is right next to the driver's door...

Just grab it (there's the little hole there you can fit a couple of fingers in) and reef her off.

There's no latch or anything - just pull it off, you wont break anything (hopefully)

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

it's a pink wire on the diagnostic port on EA-ED's not sure if it's the same on EF-EL

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

ledge_lfc wrote:
i bought da tacho dat doesnt c*m wif instructions
wtf kinda cheapass tacho did you get?

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

ome tacho from cash convertors it is 4 inch n i got it od price so yeahi was happy!! i just gotta wk it all out..that 4.9 i think i got it
just gotta work da wires out!! ne ideaabout how to connect up da lighting system?

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 625

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: R32 GTR

Location: Brackistan
VIC, Australia

ledge_lfc wrote:
:shock: hey i brought the acho to pu ton my car becoz they look sik and it has a huge shift light!!!!


bro can u get pix of it wen u r complet!!!!!111

1 wanna c how sik u can mak ur sportscar cuz

peace
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 10:58 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 25th May 2005

Ride: falcon el gt

Location: port pirie
SA, Australia

well guys i tried da fuse port thingy, no go!!! I tried tapping in to my cluster wires..no go!! goes up 2 500 rpm n stays there
VERY DISSAPOINTING

 

_________________

hah, eaten again

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:45 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names