Fordmods Logo

NF cluster in an EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:39 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 29

Joined: 17th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EB Ghia V8, XD Ghia 393, BA GT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I fitted an NF cluster into an EF and cant work out how to stop the doors from flashing (Open and closed) without hooking up the sensors. I tried earthing all the wires from the cluster but didnt work. Any ideas??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The sensors need to be thee, they work on resistance. Did you look at the tech doc?

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:49 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 29

Joined: 17th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EB Ghia V8, XD Ghia 393, BA GT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i didnt see it, dam i was hoping i could avoid hooking up the sensors.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 735

Joined: 19th Apr 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF GT, EL Xr, Xp mont, 4runner

Power: 137 rwkw

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

talk to benj. I know he has put an nf cluster into his eb wagon. He should be able to help

 

_________________

84 4runner.......needs boost
El xr6.....needs dohc boost
Xp fairmont......needs boosted 8
Bf GT......cant afford boost no more

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:05 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 20

Joined: 3rd Aug 2008

Ride: BA F6,XF Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ford_racing_8 wrote:
I fitted an NF cluster into an EF and cant work out how to stop the doors from flashing (Open and closed) without hooking up the sensors. I tried earthing all the wires from the cluster but didnt work. Any ideas??

mate try looping the wires back to each outher.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 8:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 29

Joined: 17th Nov 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EB Ghia V8, XD Ghia 393, BA GT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Quote:
talk to benj. I know he has put an nf cluster into his eb wagon. He should be able to help

Quote:
mate try looping the wires back to each outher.


Cheers il try that now, if not il talk to benj
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

You should be able to use resistors of the correct values. Try finding some manual info in a fairlane manual about testing the resistance of the door sensors for correct operation, this will tell you what they should be.

Or just get the sensors, shouldn't be too hard.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 12:23 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

180ohms doors closed (each line).
Without fitting the sensors, you should've stuck with a mid series cluster, as there's really no point with a fairlane cluster unless you add all it's features.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 5:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

Hey there thanks snap0964 for the ohms info will come in handy when I fit up all the features, going to get a couple of resistors and dummy something up in the mean time shut up the door alarm it is driving me crazy. I just need some time to do the doors properly, one at a time. It is not a small job, i probably would have thought twice before doing it. But on the plus side I can solder really well now lol

Having a think now humm… could you just wire up a resistor up the door switch and bypass fitting the original switches?? As they are a bastard to remove and $120 new from ford ($120 in stock 26-5-09)

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NF cluster in an EF
Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 10:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

interior-modifications-f14/ef-auto-position-on-dash-t12277-20.html
I'd suggest add the door switches and do it properly - get them from a wreckers.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:41 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names