Fordmods Logo

NL High Series Cluster Door Sensor Wiring 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: NL High Series Cluster Door Sensor Wiring
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey all

I'm installing the complete high series dash into my GLi, and the only problem I have come across is with the door ajar sensor wiring.
I wish to use the stocko push-buttons instead of the rare sensors, and use a diode rig to make any of the doors activate the interior light, but I cannot find out to make the cluster think the door is closed.
The boot light comes on when grounded, so thats cool. but the 4 door lights flash with an open circuit, but neither +12 or grounding the connections results in a change. has anyone solved this one?

thanks heaps

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

There needs to be 2 resistors, 180 and 1200 ohms from memory. You need to short out the 1200 ohm when closed. The sensors are not rare, any E series fairlane or LTD has them and they work better than a switch as it actually detects unlatched rather than actually open.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sweet thanks mate, ill give that a shot

but arent they prone to breaking due to their age?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

shannonwulff wrote:
sweet thanks mate, ill give that a shot

but arent they prone to breaking due to their age?
Only getting them in or out.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sweet. thanks heaps

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

The other side effects of doing the easy/lazy way is

A. that you already know the door is open as the light is on

B. you won't be able to tell which door is open specifically, so all the doors will show as open on the dash

C. if you turn the interior light on manually the doors will show as open


Do it the right way. Get the sensors from any Fairlane NA to NL. Worked a treat for me.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Vic might be able to help you here, he's done this mod...

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nah man i can do better than that.

ill use diodes to create a situation where the door lights and the interior lights are mutually exclusive, the only difference will be the lights not coming on when the doors are just clicked open.


BenJ wrote:
The other side effects of doing the easy/lazy way is

A. that you already know the door is open as the light is on

B. you won't be able to tell which door is open specifically, so all the doors will show as open on the dash

C. if you turn the interior light on manually the doors will show as open


Do it the right way. Get the sensors from any Fairlane NA to NL. Worked a treat for me.

BenJ

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

You will still have the problem that one open door will show all the doors on the dash as open.

I did this conversion in the last two weeks.

Yes it is a pain to completely dismantle the doors to get the locks out, but then you just clip in the switch and reassemble. Run some wires to the car and hook it all up. The doco has all the info.

In addition, the door ajar sensors will indicate the door is still open if not completely closed. The interior lights will be out but the door may not be latched home.

It defeats the purpose to hook it up the way you plan to do it.

Good luck

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

nah nah man like this

sorry about the s**t diagram lol

 

 

Attachments:
diagrram.jpg
diagrram.jpg [ 12.45 KiB | Viewed 753 times ]

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:04 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Do it properly using the lock switches - You'll find it not much more work than setting it up with resistors/relays, etc.
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/ef-auto- ... 12277.html

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NL High Series Cluster Door Sensor Wiring
Posted: Thu May 28, 2009 2:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

I found that if you connect a led to the wire from the dash and then earth the other end it shows up on the dash as doors closed, a temporary fix

But as snappy says do it properly otherwise what is the use of getting a Fairlane cluster

Re the relay trick: the resistors needed cost $0.06 ea for a 1% tolerance
4band colours
1200 ohm = brown red red brown
180 ohm = brown grey yellow brown

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NL High Series Cluster Door Sensor Wiring
Posted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

hey just curios about getting the sensors out if anybody has any suggestions on how how best to get them out, as I had to leave the set I had access to, just couldn't get them out.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NL High Series Cluster Door Sensor Wiring
Posted: Fri May 29, 2009 8:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

To get the sensors out, you need to remove the door lock from the door. Then unclip the sensor.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NL High Series Cluster Door Sensor Wiring
Posted: Fri May 29, 2009 10:00 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Or you can swivel the lock around - carefully pull the sensor out by the bottom part, if you break the lower clip, the sensor is useless, it won't clip in.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names