Fordmods Logo

No dash lights, HELP!! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: No dash lights, HELP!!
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Gday guys, I've done a search to try and fid out what the problem is with my dash lights but cannot come up with anything too helpful. My problem is that i simply have no backlighting on my speedo, tacho, temp, oil, etc, but have got odo readout and all assciated warning lights. My head lights and parkers are working fine just no cluster back lighting. I pulled out one of the bulbs and checked on the battery with a couple of wires to see if it worked and it was fine. Any ideas greatly appreciated, cheers guys.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 290

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: BA XR6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

If you've tested a bulb on the battery and it works fine, then obviously your cluster chain isn't getting battery power when you turn on the headlights. Either that, or it **IS** getting power, but not illuminating.

Have you been playing with the cluster lately, or had it removed lately? I know that in my BA, the cluster is connected via an interface port, and if one of the pins in the port doesn't connect properly, bits and pieces of the cluster will not work. This is the first thing to check.

If it's all connected properly and you can't see any problems, see if the problem is in the cluster itself by maybe trying another cluster (eg, off a mate's car). Sometimes it's the only way to isolate problems like this.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

cluster is getting power. the only thing i have recently done is install a new headunit which turned out to be a headache I'm thinking it could have something to do with it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

checked out the headlight switch?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

no i haven't checked the headlight switch. Does it have something to do with the illumination of the dash?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Are your switches, e.g. demister, cigar lighter lighting, etc lighting up ??

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:38 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

see if you have blown any fuses, use a multimeter as a fuse can look like its ok but in fact be blown.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

come to think of it no, my demister, cigarette lighter, etc aren't lighting up?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

sounds like a blown fuse in that case.

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 9:06 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

ELXR6lookalike wrote:
i have recently done is install a new headunit which turned out to be a headache I'm thinking it could have something to do with it.
If your parkers are working fine, then it won't be a fuse or the park lights relay. Your inst lighting and switch lighting gets power via a brown wire from the park relay - so does the headunit. If you check the brown wire to the ciggy lighter light when parkers are on, you should have 12v - my bet is it'll be zilch.
So I'd be checking what the brown wire to the headunit harness is doing.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 9:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 509

Joined: 5th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

same thing happened when i changed my h/u, too fix it i just changed wires behind h/u around and work out good
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I checked the wiring behind the headunit last night and i noticed i have one wire that isn't in use. It is black with like grey dots on it. It was from the 3 pin plug with 2 wires coming out of it, the other wire was for power? should this black wire be connected with the power wire?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 509

Joined: 5th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

the wires should have writting on them, find the one that says dash lights and follow it and make sure it plugs in to the new h/u plugs.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 509

Joined: 5th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

if u still havn trouble with it let me no and i will have a look at mine for you and i cn tell u wats wat
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

cheers for the help guys but i've got it down at the auto elecs a mate of the old mans so he is gonna sort it, i've ran outta time, cheers for the replies guys.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], lucasj95 and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:39 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names