Fordmods Logo

NO tacho,speed,fuel,watertemp cluster reading (EF) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: NO tacho,speed,fuel,watertemp cluster reading (EF)
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 386

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys,

for some reason, after plugging back both the LHS and RHS cluster connetors to the instrument cluster none of the needles on it work.

when u drive the car, the tacho, water temp, fuel and speed needles all remain idle despite going at speeds over 40kms.

however, the LCD screen illuminates, but there is a blank odometer reading displaying

Also, the airbag, park brake, oil symbol and batery symbol on the cluster illuminates when u turn the key into ignition state.

I have repeatedly tried to unplug and plug back both LHS and RHS connectors to the cluster. BUT it still doesn't work. I also tried using another instrument cluster but the same thing happens.

is there some component failure?? What is responsible????

 

_________________

doing it in reverse with a fwd is like being fuked by a fat man and saying "well he has tits so i'm not gay"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NO tacho,speed,fuel,watertemp cluster reading (EF)
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

partie wrote:
hey guys,

for some reason, after plugging back both the LHS and RHS cluster connetors to the instrument cluster none of the needles on it work.

when u drive the car, the tacho, water temp, fuel and speed needles all remain idle despite going at speeds over 40kms.

however, the LCD screen illuminates, but there is a blank odometer reading displaying

Also, the airbag, park brake, oil symbol and batery symbol on the cluster illuminates when u turn the key into ignition state.

I have repeatedly tried to unplug and plug back both LHS and RHS connectors to the cluster. BUT it still doesn't work. I also tried using another instrument cluster but the same thing happens.

is there some component failure?? What is responsible????


Partie

You should have the Battery disconnected before removing and replacing connectors on the cluster, they have active electronics in them and can possibly be destroyed if this precaution is not observed.

Cheers.
TW

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NO tacho,speed,fuel,watertemp cluster reading (EF)
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

partie wrote:
hey guys,

for some reason, after plugging back both the LHS and RHS cluster connetors to the instrument cluster none of the needles on it work.

when u drive the car, the tacho, water temp, fuel and speed needles all remain idle despite going at speeds over 40kms.

however, the LCD screen illuminates, but there is a blank odometer reading displaying

Also, the airbag, park brake, oil symbol and batery symbol on the cluster illuminates when u turn the key into ignition state.

I have repeatedly tried to unplug and plug back both LHS and RHS connectors to the cluster. BUT it still doesn't work. I also tried using another instrument cluster but the same thing happens.

is there some component failure?? What is responsible????


Partie
Could be a broken cable or a pin pushed out from the connector. A word of caution here, you should have the battery disconnected before removing and replacing connectors on the cluster, they have active electronics in them and can possibly be destroyed if this precaution is not observed.

Cheers.
TW

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 186

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1997 EL Fairmont,2008 FG G6E

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Check your Inst Ignition fuse as well mine kept playing up like yours did found out it was the fuse.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

el_747 wrote:
Check your Inst Ignition fuse as well mine kept playing up like yours did found out it was the fuse.


I agree, check the fuses first.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:49 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 386

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanx for all the help guys.

found out that indeed, one of the fuses were blown. i though it checked them all before i typed this post. But i must have rushed it and not seen the blown fuse.

in case anybody was curious, it was some fuse call 'instant battery' or something like that.

cheerss

 

_________________

doing it in reverse with a fwd is like being fuked by a fat man and saying "well he has tits so i'm not gay"

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names