Fordmods Logo

odometer swapping in ef el 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Sep 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

a while ago i found an article on swapping odometer readings between clusters out of ef el's.
I was wondering if anyone has a link or knows about this.
It involves un soldering a chip and re soldering it into the cluster.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/Changing ... s-d14.html

I've done a heap of them, its not really worth it.
Get yourself a Police cluster with similar K's

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 214

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: Territory TS TDCi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

eboost wrote:
a while ago i found an article on swapping odometer readings between clusters out of ef el's.
I was wondering if anyone has a link or knows about this.
It involves un soldering a chip and re soldering it into the cluster.


its in the technical docs under changing instruments

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/Changing ... s-d14.html
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Sep 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks guys for your help. It says it requires special tools to change cos its heat sensetive? WIll a normal soldering iron work or will it damage it? Do i need a "special one"?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Normal 30-40 watt iron will do.

I found it easier to heat all legs up with a flat tip, and use a 'angle grinded' down Stanley knife blade to get under the chip.

(you need to grind it to get past a capacitor so you can get under the chip)

As for heat, I haven't killed one yet. Just don't go overboard and cook it.

The biggest problem with removal is you'll lift the tracks off the pcb.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Sep 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

tracks off the pcb? what does this mean. sorry
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

The foil on the circuit board is glued on.
Its etched away to make tracks for the circuit board.

When your trying to remove parts that have been there a while and with minimal heat, sometimes the tracks stay attached to the semiconductors legs!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:40 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

is there another way to do this as in a non solder way ?

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

muncher2002 wrote:
is there another way to do this as in a non solder way ?


yes there is ...

Krytox wrote:
Get yourself a Police cluster with similar K's
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Fri May 29, 2009 12:20 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

you always hear ppl say things like "i got a mate for $50 he will turn back the clock for ya"
who is this mate???

i understand it is illegal to fiddle with the k's but if it legitimate as in cluster change, i dont see a problem. there must be some where that can do it via a computer or something

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: fairmont 230k hi series cluster 480k on the clock
Image0136.jpg
Image0136.jpg [ 244.56 KiB | Viewed 36 times ]

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

Generally that's on analogue odometer not digital, but I'd assume there is a way, just that shonky $50 mate most likely can't.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: odometer swapping in ef el
Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

I made a device that can 'drive' the cluster forward, I reset a cluster to 0k's in a matter of weeks.
I lent it to a member on these forums and he wound a lower K's cluster to match his 'original' amount (around 50,000k's in a few days.)

Yes you can do it fast, but requires large voltage on a 5v rail. but, as above, find a cluster with similar k's!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names