Fordmods Logo

patching centre console wires EA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: patching centre console wires EA
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 22

Joined: 26th Feb 2006

Location: Mt. Dandenong, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm trying to install a new centre console in my ea. I picked one up today which has power window switch and a rear footwell light. I'm trying to figure out which wires to patch onto to get the rear footwell light working as my car doesn't have any of the wires in place. I read the tech document for rear footwell lights install and looking at my repair manual it says the only yellow/green wire is in the dome light and i don't have a black/blue as I don't have any of the extra sensors rigged up. I've pulled half my dash off looking for any other wires and haven't found them yet so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

Just hook it up to the dome light

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:57 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 22

Joined: 26th Feb 2006

Location: Mt. Dandenong, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Only problem is it's in the roof and I don't really want ot have to pull my roof off just to get a rear footwell lamp working unless that's the only option.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

Why not patch wire it to the switch in one of the doors.

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:13 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 22

Joined: 26th Feb 2006

Location: Mt. Dandenong, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'll try that. Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:33 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 22

Joined: 26th Feb 2006

Location: Mt. Dandenong, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I just had a thought, will I be able to get power to the light from the door?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The light needs a constant 12 volt feed, and the negative side is switched from the door switches. The wires will either be available in the drivers kickpanel or pillar.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:02 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names