Fordmods Logo

Pimp's dash elec problem, help on page 2 ploise 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 27 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

do you continue to get power to the acc terminal of ur ign barrel with keys out?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ringastinga wrote:
do you continue to get power to the acc terminal of ur ign barrel with keys out?


I'd love to answer that question, but i just went downstairs to continue, and its all back to fkn normal.That is even gayer thatn the problem, itself, because now i can't find the problem and rectify it properly, because its gone. I don't get it, i think i would found it this morning too.

Chances are though, whatever the problem was, it'll happen again, unless without knowing maybe i actually did fix it last night. I'm not sure i'd had quite a few brews.

So now i have a $75 BEM that is usless to me, hopefully the wreckers will swap it for some EF mirrors

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 6:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

On further research of the electrical schematics, it appears that the wiper and washer circuit is all triggered by neg, and positive is the constant, can anyone confirm??

If this is correct, then my problem could revolve around a loose/f**k earth somewhere.

Its still not quite right, when i take the keys out and shut the door, the int lights go out straight away instead the delay, it takes me to open and re shut the door and it'll work properly, but this doesn't happen everytime.

Also, its taking about 15-25 secs for smartlock to actually start doing its thing. After this, everything seems ok, but its still not right.

All help welcome.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1667

Joined: 23rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Boosted ED XR6, EBII Mont Wgn

Power: 252 rwkw

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

yes, sounds like there is an earth problem somewere, earth issues tend to cause very odd problems :? ..

 

_________________

Image
[SEXYR-6] ED XR6 T5 Turbo Build
[EBW-347] EB Wagon V8 Stroker Build
FordMods Member #1761

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

was it raining when problem 1st occured??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No, it has'nt had any problems with rain or water ever. I'm thinking a earth problem or a relay i can't find.

My boss's mate is a auto elec, he said he'll look at it wednesday, he thinks it has to be something simple which i've missed, and thats what i think too.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I didn't get a chance for the auto elec to look at, plus i got my rego renewal so i'm kinda broke, but the auto elec gave me some advice after i told him the story.

So the problem HAS to be isolated to the dash loom, so i'm just going to change the f**k dash loom. s**t job, but I KNOW this will fix it. So, now to find a dash loom.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

OK.

So i got5 a new dash loom, its out of an NF Fairlane. One of the cluster plugs had to be changed to fit the fairmont cluster, other than that, all looked ok.

Anyway, one thing i forgot to check yesterday, i found today. I just finished putting the dash back in, and after hooking everything back up, i found that the taillights aren't working. The front parkers and dash lights are, but the taillights are not. The brake and reverse lights ARE working.


Could this be because the Lane cluster has the "bulb out" nonsense, and this obviously isn't hooked up in the fairmont cluster? If so, how do i get around that?

Thanks.


EDIT: Indeed it was the problem, i simply joined the brown wires with a jumper lead, and bam, the taillights work. When i get a lane cluster, i just pull it out.,

Andrew.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 624

Joined: 7th Jul 2008

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

good to hear its sorted. atleast youve done the hard yards ready for the lane cluster
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

True that.

I have since figured out though that the whole debacle was caused by the f**k new amp i just bought 2 months ago. Piece of s**t.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

f**k stereo equipment ....full stop :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2008 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I hear that, pisses me off bad, hence why i'm chasing down a factory premo setup. My EF donor originally had it, some homo must have removed before i bought it, otherwise it would have gone in with the conversion too.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names