Fordmods Logo

Question for people with climate control! (ef/el) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Question for people with climate control! (ef/el)
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ok guys..

you set the unit for face only.. turn the fan up.. set it for 20*C with no aircon...

is air meant to come out of the dimister spots that blow onto the windscreen on the dash?

ran a CC diagnostic and got no errors.

also, whats it worth to get an aircon regassed? put mine on high for 10 mins and i wouldnt say the air coming out is exactly cold :\ i remember if you used to do that and hold ya hand to the vent your hand would get pretty damn cold. at the moment its only midly better than fan only :(

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

re-gas is around the $90-$100 mark. i tested mine last year with a thermostat - was coming out @ about 18oC from memory, on full blast. wasn't cold enough for me! :P

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

$100 to get air con regassed.

Air is only meant to go wherever the little icon on the screen tells you it is.

If its on auto setting it picks where it wants to put the air to for maximum cooling of the car (or heating) depending on what temp you set.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

air should be about 6 to 8 deg when a/c is working well. which is about 2 degs at the evaporator
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 6:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

6 to 8 seems a bit cold ... climate control only goes down to 16 degrees

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ok.. 100 bucks, think i can scrounge that up :)

now onto the pointing thing.. anyone who has got it, run outside and test it now :P

when mines on face it comes out about equal face and winscreen, if not more windscreen i think!

however, a CC diag showed no faults :?

guide me oh so smart ones

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

Happy wrote:
6 to 8 seems a bit cold ... climate control only goes down to 16 degrees


However to get the cabin down to 16 it would have to provide air that was much colder.
On the same note high temp air out of my heater is 52deg, CC only goes up to 30.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

Sounds like you have a vacumn problem. Either in one of your lines or the door actuator for the windscreen is not closing.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 1:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hmm, one of the CC diag checks showed up with no errors..

driving home tonight i made sure, AC off, air set to face, fan about 5, there was definatly more air coming out the windscreen than the face.

where exactly would i be looking for these vacumme lines?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

i think i have a similar problem with my NC. Its a vacume leak for sure. How are you meant to locate vacume leaks?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

The actuators close when vacumn is applied to them. I would say your most likely failure is the vac hose has split or borken. I think the hose to the windscreen actuator is the yellow hose and the actuator itself is at the very RHS of the airbox at the top on the back.

The bad news is that to properly fix this sort of thing, generally speaking, your airbox has to come out.......unless you are really lucky and the break is in the first 10cm's or so of hose.

To make sure that this is the problem, at your vac solenoid, swap your windscreen hose over onto an outlet for a section you know is working ok. See if the problem still occurrs. This will isolate the problem to the vac hose and or actuator.

Good luck.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 12:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

You can check your A/C by running it for about 5 - 10 mins max cool, high fan(1st engine start is good as the radiator hasn't heated up), visibly check the compressor clutch is engaged, and with the black plastic surround removed (the one that sits around the hood catch)have a feel of the condensor (sits in front of the radiator), it should feel warm/hot pretty much over the whole surface area - if it only feels warm maybe the top half or less, then that's a good indicator that there's been a loss of refrigerant. If you have a look at the sightglass on the receiver/dryer (cylinder like item sitting nearby), if there's a fair amount of bubbles flowing through, that's a good indicator for loss as well.
A system running properly should be pretty hot on the compressor output pipe to the condensor, condensor should be hot pretty much over it's whole surface, the pipes to the evaporator at the firewall should feel pretty cold.
It's a rough test, but should give you an idea in case the heater box doors are playing silly buggers. If you do have a refrigerant loss, obviously there may be a leak, so it may add to the recharge cost.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 7:48 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

fordgt290 wrote:
air should be about 6 to 8 deg when a/c is working well. which is about 2 degs at the evaporator


mate has a TR magna (yeah i know, its not a ford), he got the system regassed over a year n a half ago. n he brought a lil thermometer on a wire, and stuffed it down the vent (fan speed 2 i think - non CC naturally ;) ) and it was reading 6 degrees... we got the car down to about 20 degrees inside while it was 35 outside...

*gets back in box*

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

I guess I was lucky to have mine leak at the heater tap. As the heater tap only gets vacuum when you select a cold temp, all through winter I never noticed a problem. However when summer came along air would switch to the screen every time I accelerated.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question for people with climate control! (ef/el)
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 9:43 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 55

Joined: 4th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

Gaz wrote:

also, whats it worth to get an aircon regassed? put mine on high for 10 mins and i wouldnt say the air coming out is exactly cold :\ i remember if you used to do that and hold ya hand to the vent your hand would get pretty damn cold. at the moment its only midly better than fan only :(


This could be due to the fact that the resistor in the CC control unit in the dash is blocked cause this is used to sensor the temp in the cabin. i had tha same problem and i the couse of changing the filter behind the screen this is what i found, cleaned it and it was fine again.

 

_________________

ROTOR is ROTOR spelt backwards!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:58 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names