Fordmods Logo

relocating cruise control on ED 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: relocating cruise control on ED
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2754

Joined: 14th Apr 2005

Ride: fairmont

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

hey all iam sick of the look of the standard steering wheel on the fairmont, i am after a new wheel (oponions would be great also) but want to retain cruise control, is there are a way to relocate the buttons frm the wheel to a different spot inside the car???

 

_________________

Now i have a EF XR8 5spd.........mmmmmm 5L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:13 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Save money up and get MOMO wheel with cruise centre.
Relocated cruise would be a pain dude, either have it looking out of place somewhere but easy to hit still, or hidden but a pain in the a*** to use.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 9:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 896

Joined: 3rd May 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Blueprint EB II Fairmont 5L

Location: Wanneroo
WA, Australia

u can try and make em fit on the shifter surround.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2754

Joined: 14th Apr 2005

Ride: fairmont

Location: mackay
QLD, Australia

i was thinking of the shifter surround, ahh well i might go without cruise control then lol, untl i can get hold of a momo wheel

 

_________________

Now i have a EF XR8 5spd.........mmmmmm 5L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

Ford did have a Cruise Control Option for the POVO packs EA-ED it was mounted on the dash.

Contact a ford dealer to see if this is avalible still as I still get parts from ford for my car.

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

ive never seen cruise on the dash. im fairly certain that they just changed the steering wheel when fitting cruise.

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 896

Joined: 3rd May 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Blueprint EB II Fairmont 5L

Location: Wanneroo
WA, Australia

Ben_Daui wrote:
Ford did have a Cruise Control Option for the POVO packs EA-ED it was mounted on the dash.

Contact a ford dealer to see if this is avalible still as I still get parts from ford for my car.

yeah ...!!!i saw this on an EA s/wagon...im pretty sure the controls go where the power areal button goes...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

veeate wrote:
Ben_Daui wrote:
Ford did have a Cruise Control Option for the POVO packs EA-ED it was mounted on the dash.

Contact a ford dealer to see if this is avalible still as I still get parts from ford for my car.

yeah ...!!!i saw this on an EA s/wagon...im pretty sure the controls go where the power areal button goes...

Thats the one :lol:

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

i did it

Image

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

and ive got a boss kit to i think

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The MOMO Boss has the three required rings on it for pickup of the cruise signal.

The EB GT Wheel works a treat - if you can get one. If you cant, id suggest having a bit of fun making it work. Whatever you do, DONT do that Povo version!. ERGH.

Looks like a jiffy box just drilled for the switches. Seriously Folks : Show some class. Try and put the EF Style switches on a Momo wheel for gods sake.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

you can put the buttons anywhere ,ive put them in the fuse panel of the fuze box as well ,you can even see them

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

that a neat trick posted by EDMONTY so if you have the switches & know electronics anything can be done but if its a POVO then the factory switch option for the POVO will be the go as the POVO packs don't have the LOOM required for cruise control.

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

you could also ditch one of the vents on the RHS of the column and put the switches there,

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

after market wheels look s**t on late model falcons anyway :o

a better option IMO is to put in a EF steering column and use one of the many good looking EF-AU momo/leather jobbies and use the EF or EL buttons.

Would look s**t hot :P

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:24 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names