Fordmods Logo

Removing Boxcar cruise buttons 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Removing Boxcar cruise buttons
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

The buttons on my LTD steering wheel are playing up. I now can't turn the cruise control on. When it was working perfect just a while ago.

I can't see any obvious screws or clips so i thought i would ask so i don't do any perminent damage

so anyone on here taken the buttons out before??

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 173

Joined: 22nd Feb 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

Get a really skinny flat screw driver poke it between the top of the cruise button and the steering wheel them kinda wrench it out you wont do and damage to them.

 

_________________

CVE Performance - Drive In........ Drift Away.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 7:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Adam you have to remove the horn cover first, then there are clips under that for the cruise control. Use a flat screw driver to ease them out - both sets of buttons just sit in the wheel. These can play up, I have had three of those cars, only the NC was the best one.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 10:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 512

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

do boxcars even have cruise lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 09, 2007 11:35 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

gli wrote:
do boxcars even have cruise lol

lolzor, do EF/ELs have a good brake switch?
No, so shut the f**k up.

They just pop out fordz, as the others have said.

Haven't had problems with the buttons myself, if the cars been sitting for awhile the grease on the rings on the back of the wheel can dry up, so you get a s**t contact and it sends the wrong resistance to cruise comp.
Sprint cruise was doing all sorts of weird s**t before i regreased the contacts and rings.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

gli wrote:
do boxcars even have cruise lol


do u have brain lol

Steady ED wrote:

They just pop out fordz, as the others have said.

Haven't had problems with the buttons myself, if the cars been sitting for awhile the grease on the rings on the back of the wheel can dry up, so you get a s**t contact and it sends the wrong resistance to cruise comp.
Sprint cruise was doing all sorts of weird s**t before i regreased the contacts and rings.


yeah, i figured as much, i'm going to pull the multimeter out and test em this weekend. Its just this new wheel I got off ebay, it has what looks to be like brand-new switches, except they do absolutely f**k nothing except look good :lol:

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:01 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names