Fordmods Logo

Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:04 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 98

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: 1996 DF LTD

Location: Country
WA, Australia

Ive just replaced my faulty DF dash with a good one, and was wondering if there is any way to reset the odo reading on the new dash myself?... or does it have to be sent off to a professional?
My old reading was 106455kms and the new dash is 314762kms, so Im keen to set the new dash to my old KM's.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

The odometer reading is stored in an EEPROM, an electronic chip basically, on the circuit board inside the cluster. You can un-solder and swap them between the two clusters.

You will need a really small tip for the soldering iron though.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 444

Joined: 12th Apr 2010

Ride: 2006 BF XR8 Boss 260

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

SLO247 wrote:
The odometer reading is stored in an EEPROM, an electronic chip basically, on the circuit board inside the cluster. You can un-solder and swap them between the two clusters.

You will need a really small tip for the soldering iron though.

Really small and really low temp. Even then no guarantees. There is a bit on it in the tech guides here. I done it on my XR6 speedo head I used, worked out fine.

 

_________________

Current...
XY Faker Project...
EL XR6 Work Hack...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 98

Joined: 28th Mar 2005

Ride: 1996 DF LTD

Location: Country
WA, Australia

Thanks guys.

I went to my mates place (where we changed it) to pick up the old dash and he had s**t-canned it already. And it was bin day on Tuesday, so I wont be getting that back. :x

Is there any other way of resetting the dash I have in the car?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 12:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

yeah pull it out and take it to an auto instruments repair/supplier, they can do it. around $70 but dont quote me on that. try yellow pages and ring around
a while ago on here a guy from wa was doing it from home too
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 12:31 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 340

Joined: 4th Nov 2009

Ride: EFII Fairmont XR8

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

XRfairmont67 wrote:
yeah pull it out and take it to an auto instruments repair/supplier, they can do it. around $70 but dont quote me on that. try yellow pages and ring around
a while ago on here a guy from wa was doing it from home too


Surely not legal?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 7:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Any EF or EL cluster eprom will work, dont need to be a DL.
Shop around for a low K EF/L cluster.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 971

Joined: 18th Dec 2008

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

thepistonhead wrote:
Surely not legal?


I'm fairly sure it's only illegal if you're altering it to display a number lower than the vehicle has actually done.

And I think there is something in the rule or law about deceiving potential buyers into purchasing it for a higher value than it might otherwise be worth.

 

_________________

Image
DCII LTD V8 - leather - low k's
1978 XC '1/2' 500 project 302C
BA Futura wagon
P38 Range Rover HSE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Resetting a DF LTD Odometer reading?
Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 9:05 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 340

Joined: 4th Nov 2009

Ride: EFII Fairmont XR8

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

lukey1990 wrote:
thepistonhead wrote:
Surely not legal?


I'm fairly sure it's only illegal if you're altering it to display a number lower than the vehicle has actually done.

And I think there is something in the rule or law about deceiving potential buyers into purchasing it for a higher value than it might otherwise be worth.


Yeah agreed, but..

Conversation to 'cluster repairman':

"Yeah mate I swear she only had 20,000 km's on it before the cluster died"

Image

A very gray area legality wise.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names