Fordmods Logo

Rewind Km's 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 44 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:41 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well, everyone else hear will tell you im wrong, but trust me, im a professional kilometre-wind-backerer.
You gotta get like 8 hours of dyno time, and just run the thing in reverse at full pelt, on the rev limiter, for the whole 8 hours.
If it doesn't work, ask the dyno operator for your money back.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 889

Joined: 23rd Aug 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1984 XE Falcon

Location: South East Melb
VIC, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
Well, everyone else hear will tell you im wrong, but trust me, im a professional kilometre-wind-backerer.
You gotta get like 8 hours of dyno time, and just run the thing in reverse at full pelt, on the rev limiter, for the whole 8 hours.
If it doesn't work, ask the dyno operator for your money back.


LOL haha you'll blow up ur engine or go through a ton of petrol before you wind the clock back using reverse
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 468

Joined: 21st Aug 2005

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: SERIES 2 FAIRMONT GHIA

Location: perth western australia
WA, Australia

Quote:
dvyvan Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:02 pm Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So your advertising the fact that your going to rewind your K's, If i bought a car off you and relised the eprom had been resoldered id bring the car back and cave your head in. Cant f**k stand f**k like you screwing honest people out of there hard earned cash. Im also disapointed at the people who have told you how to do it.

Your a f**k joke


couldnt have said it better

 

_________________

Image

15 PSI OF BOOSTED GHIA GOODNESS!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 121

Joined: 8th Oct 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

[/quote]If i bought a car off you and relised the eprom had been resoldered id bring the car back and cave your head in.
Quote:

The eeprom was changed from my original cluster to the XR cluster when I upgraded to read the same K's, it was resoldered in by an electronics friend.

Im also disapointed at the people who have told you how to do it.
[quote]

The tech document on this site shows in detail how this is done.

I personally cannot see the problem if the service records etc add up to what the odometer is reading. It falls back to almost every other purchaces you make - buyer be ware.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

but like just read these posts like what if you rebuild an engine and replace everything like the pistons rings gaskets etc etc and yeah like a new engine and the engine would be 0 kms cause it is a rebuild?? or what about like if you trans planted like a create engine???

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

but the engine isnt the only thing that had travelled 300,000km..

driveline is that old, suspension is that old, chassis etc.. they have all covered that much distance. odometer just doesnt tell the age/condition of the engine.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

from memory when reading the workshop manual you can reset the KMs on a ef just remove the cluster and leave it sit for 10 years, and it will reset after this time. :D i remember reading it someware

but then again its not leagal so dont do it, if there is a need to keep track of a new engine why not install a hour meter.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:34 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

voids wrote:
from memory when reading the workshop manual you can reset the KMs on a ef just remove the cluster and leave it sit for 10 years, and it will reset after this time. :D i remember reading it someware


Knwoing how they work, I find that very hard to believe.

It's an EEPROM. So it won't forget if left without power.

If you have the right equipment, and know how the chip itself is programmed, it's certainly possible. But as said illegal. So I won't go into more detail.

(Note: I've never done it myself, nor will I. But I know my way around an eeprom writer).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1640

Joined: 16th Jun 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Driver's Seat
VIC, Australia

I think its funny how people will post ways of winding it back or making it seem less than what it is (which you've all said is illegal),
but as soon as someone goes "Hey how do i shift quicker to drag off my mate's VK at the lights?"
Bamm! In come the moderators!

I guess it is kinda different tho..

 

_________________

-------- Falcs --------
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1802

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Horsham
VIC, Australia

Froudey wrote:
but like just read these posts like what if you rebuild an engine and replace everything like the pistons rings gaskets etc etc and yeah like a new engine and the engine would be 0 kms cause it is a rebuild?? or what about like if you trans planted like a create engine???



yeah but what about the rest of the car doing 400000k's if you got that car and like had to fit all new springs and shocks, ball joints, gearbox, any of these thing could go wrong YOU'D BE p****d

 

_________________

EFBIGNIK 145.9 RWKW Falcon / 16.27 @ 86.72mph (Stock)
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h38/e ... urnout.flv
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 6:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2098

Joined: 19th Jan 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 5L 5 speed Fairmont Ghia

Location: St Maoris
NSW, Australia

The only way to do it is to obtain a reprogrammer. I have had it done to my car, as I bought a chaser cluster that had about 150,000 more than what my car had done. To get it reprogrammed, I had to take it to the reprogrammer, and prove that the new cluster reading is significantly higher than what the car has done (using the pink slip).

Try taking it to a ford dealer, and seeing what they can do :wink:

 

_________________

Remember kids, the more pages of crap in your build thread, the bigger your e-penis is

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 10:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4323

Joined: 17th Jan 2006

Ride: Soarer 2.5GT-T

Location: Cranbourne
VIC, Australia

Falcs wrote:
I think its funny how people will post ways of winding it back or making it seem less than what it is (which you've all said is illegal),
but as soon as someone goes "Hey how do i shift quicker to drag off my mate's VK at the lights?"
Bamm! In come the moderators!

I guess it is kinda different tho..


Hahahah yeah good observation.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 10:55 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11738

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Falcs wrote:
I think its funny how people will post ways of winding it back or making it seem less than what it is (which you've all said is illegal),
but as soon as someone goes "Hey how do i shift quicker to drag off my mate's VK at the lights?"
Bamm! In come the moderators!

I guess it is kinda different tho..


yeah i thought so too.........it should be closed soon i think o_O

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

just read the replys well duh to me i didn't think of that like yeah the diffs and etc etc

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

data_mine wrote:
voids wrote:
from memory when reading the workshop manual you can reset the KMs on a ef just remove the cluster and leave it sit for 10 years, and it will reset after this time. :D i remember reading it someware


Knwoing how they work, I find that very hard to believe.

It's an EEPROM. So it won't forget if left without power.

If you have the right equipment, and know how the chip itself is programmed, it's certainly possible. But as said illegal. So I won't go into more detail.

(Note: I've never done it myself, nor will I. But I know my way around an eeprom writer).

im prety shure i read this statement in the ford workshop manual that after exactly 10 years it looses all memory. but i will check again when i get acces to thre book again. i also dont know why ford would have such a function.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names