Fordmods Logo

Should I just go to the Auto Electrician? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Should I just go to the Auto Electrician?
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 29

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EL FALCON

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey Guys, hopefully someone can give me some ideas.

Driving home last night we lost the lights in the dash for the dials. The Odometer and the lights in the middle were ok, just the lights to illuminate went. Plus the ones for the air vents and the likes.

we also lost the parking lights.

Also the stereo doesnt dim when you turn the headlights off and the beeping for when you have the headlights on after turning off the engine doesnt beep anymore.

Mechanic said it sounds like the wiring loom may have rubbed somewhere and worn out, causing a short. I have also been blowing left headlights every month of so.

No fuses blown though.

Any ideas? Or should I just suck it up and take it to the Auto Electrician?

Thanks for your help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:22 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Well that'd be the easiest option. But $$$.

If you don't mind pulling apart your dash and having a squiz at the loom you may be able to fidn the source of the issue. And if it's just a short a careful relocation and application of some electrical tape will do it.

Places I'd be targeting first would be, the headlight switch - see if it's faulty, or the wiring around it messed up, then there's the BEM. Also go through ALL the fuses with a multimeter and check them. I had a blown fuse but it wasn't visible, I only picked it when testing each one.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 4:35 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 29

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EL FALCON

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks dude.

I was thinking about doing that tomorrow, just wasn't surethe best place to look!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 7:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 29

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EL FALCON

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks dude, you were right, blown fuse. Tested with the multimeter. Parking lamp fuse.

Nice one!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That saved you quite a few $$$$$ didnt it? :D

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 9:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 29

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EL FALCON

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thought so, but still blowing fuses.

off the the auto elec... :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 10:17 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Did you check your wiring?

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:34 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 29

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EL FALCON

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I didnt get a chance too. might do it on the weekend.

not too confident on doing itmyself, but might call a mate and call in a favour.

suggest looking at the switch first?
can I check the switch without pulling the whole dash off?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 29

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EL FALCON

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

What gets me though, is it works for a while and then click, hear it blow.

Just not sure where it would be out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

Sounds like a stuffed relay. Of course it could be ok and overloading due to a short too.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 8:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

have you got a trailer plug?
dodgy scotch locks break away sometimes, and short.
the same thing happened on a BA last week at work.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 8:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

why would you be dodgy and use scotch locks in a BA. ford have plugs that plug straight in to the loom

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah well i don't know why they use them, but it keeps us busy every now and again.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

the auto sparky is the go mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:59 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

if you have a manual (like a gregory's or something) for your car, I would suggest going over the body electronics. You are probably blowing fuses due to a small short somewhere. I would be looking at the wiring diagram for the lighting (obviously). Which fuse do you keep blowing? Find it on the wiring diagram, and check for continuity between different sources. If through somewhere it isn't continuous, there's a break.

Good luck!

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names