Fordmods Logo

SMARTLOCK keypad 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: SMARTLOCK keypad
Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys.... wasnt to sure where to put this topic and i figured this was the best location...anywho my keypad to open my car seems to work when it wants to...im tipping its low on battery but i thought i might check on here...when i press the button to open or lock sometimes the little red little will come on and it will work..sometimes it will come on and not work..sometimes it wont come on at all until i squeeze the back of the keypad aswell...if anyone has had a similiar problem or knows anything about it any help would be greatly appreciated
thanks in advance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:20 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 168

Joined: 5th Jan 2006

Ride: XY Fairmont

Location: Berri
SA, Australia

Open the keypad up and clean the battery contact plates. Bend them before you refit the battery so that it fits in tighter. Should work ok then as long as the battery is ok.

 

_________________

Real Cars have Chrome Bars

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh, as above, mine did that. battery was slightly loose, bent the contacts in a bit and squeesed the battery back in and it was fine

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks for the help guys will try that when i get the chance
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: smartlock keypad
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

as above, but battery can be low,depends on useage.can buy new battery almost anywhere,my local spares shop carries them,ENERGIZER -A23 one battery,about $3,as above to fit. :roll: :roll:

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 874

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Ride: EL Monty

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Mines been doing that too, being meaning to fix it for a while
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1162

Joined: 19th Jun 2005

Location: perth sor
WA, Australia

yeh i bent hte contacts in two places.. so if the battery is [==], the contact sits like this

|         |
>[==]<

 

_________________

current ride: worn out chuck taylors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 121

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i did the bending of the contacts to fit battery tighter and also fitted a new battery and i still had the same problem. but now since i got a upgraded alarm system i seem to have problem with alarm
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:01 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

i made a doco on this like a year ago and asked for it to be put on the site and it never was... hmm.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

i had dirty conact on my door button. just hit it witha soldring iron. but get new batt and clean her upa little she will be fine
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

I had this I replaced the keyfob, $20 from a wrecker
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 14th Apr 2006

Location: warilla
NSW, Australia

Yep had the same prob, but it turned out to be the button itself, same as a mouse button they do go bad, the fix was to glue a small peice of rubber off an old computer keyboard to the rubber button to make it press harder on to the switch.

 

_________________

R.G.M.A. HOPLEY

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names