Fordmods Logo

Smartlock 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 632

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: el xr8

Location: bidwill
NSW, Australia

that black panel in a fairmont contains 2 switches 1st is door lock/unlock and 2nd is electric aerial half up or full up

 

_________________

i smell bad even when fm members drive past lol.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Rossca wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
Rossca wrote:
ok now thats a little confuzzling.

it would say on the plate under the bonnet if its an EBII right?
cos mine just says EB.. but....

April '92 "series II" update mines aug '92

4.0 MPFI introduced in series II thats the engine i have

also no smartlock, but Ford Til I Die said it didnt come out till oct '92

so is mine actually series II without smartlock, or maybe a previous owner has changed a few things...


you might actually have smartlock without knowing it. When i got my NC it didn't come with a remote. But still had smartlock.

When you totally remove your key from the ignition do you get a flashing LED after about 15 seconds??


beats me, 15 seconds im usually out of the car haha. where would the LED be?
plus with smartlock, isnt it supposed to have a little thingy on the left side of the steering wheel? just above the handbreak?. this is a pic of whats in mine, looks like something should be there.


its in the instrument cluster on the lower LH side. But looking at that pic, it dosen't *look* like you have smartlock :(

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 8:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

mines a fairmont has the arial button but not the door lock button .just the late 92 models had smartlock standand the earlier models it was an option like abs as well mines got the wires under the back seat but no abs.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 107

Joined: 25th Feb 2007

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

lol mines got ABS but no A/C
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:41 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 56

Joined: 14th Nov 2005

Ride: ef fairmont, ba futura

Location: GERALDTON
WA, Australia

chances are if smart lock doesnt flash on your dash with ign turned off,
then there aint no smart lock.

 

_________________

FORD =
Fun On Rainy Days

got 4g to spend on mods. but dont know were to start.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:49 am 
Technical Contributor
Online
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

For non smartlock E series falcons (with door actuators), you'll find it easier and more secure to fit an alarm in lieu of adding the smartlock module and ECU.

At least with current alarms, you can get code hopping on the remote, plus remote start is easy to implement.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:59 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
For non smartlock E series falcons (with door actuators), you'll find it easier and more secure to fit an alarm in lieu of adding the smartlock module and ECU.

At least with current alarms, you can get code hopping on the remote, plus remote start is easy to implement.



i had the old alarm removed that was in the car when i got the car didn’t come with remotes, so i had a new Rhino RES4601 worth the money if you can afford it, not the top of the line but is not far off it.

Does all doors boot bonnet, keyless access to doors and boot, with immobilizer 3 stage ignition, fuel pump and i cant remember the 3rd

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names