Fordmods Logo

spanner service light 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: spanner service light
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 17

Joined: 24th Feb 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: shepparton
VIC, Australia

does anyone know how to get rid of that annoying service light spanner thing. i do my own servicing and want to get rid of the light :?

 

_________________

i blow holdens!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

turn the ignition on and hold the odometer reset button till the spanner dissapears...it will beep...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 17

Joined: 24th Feb 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: shepparton
VIC, Australia

thanks mate worked a treat

 

_________________

i blow holdens!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

no worries :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 17

Joined: 24th Feb 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: shepparton
VIC, Australia

also how do you resey the ecu? y would u do it and what advantages does it have. also i go a 2 1/2 exhaust with extractors put on my car shoule i have reset it then it has been on for a while is it still worth doing?

 

_________________

i blow holdens!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

to reset it just disconnect the battery for a few minutes...might be worth doing it if you have put on new exhaust and extractors..certainly wont do any harm...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:47 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 17

Joined: 24th Feb 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: shepparton
VIC, Australia

i also heard once u have reset the ecu u should drive it at variable speeds etc.. to get it to tune right or something is this true?

 

_________________

i blow holdens!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

everyone has different opinions on this...personally, I just drive it normally, giv it the odd flog....doesnt mater too much...idle might be a bit rough at first...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh it wont matter too much...drive it as ya normally would just dont hoon too much at least for a wee while ;) ... only oither thing is people with autos will feel it running in LIMP mode for a while til the ECU re-learns everything.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 204

Joined: 23rd May 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Try this link if you want to do it properly....

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... eset+gtbob

 

_________________

Thorpy says single wipers are Fully SIK!

EL Futura Dynamic White
Tickford Suspension
K&N Hi flow and XR8 snorkel
DBA Slots and braided lines

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

if its an auto, yea that'll work...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 874

Joined: 24th Sep 2005

Ride: EL Monty

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I reset mine after i go the ticky snorkel/k+n filter and exhaust, seemed to do the trick, started real rough the first time but once it learned everything was running like a dream
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

You can reset the ECU either by the two pins in the connector plug within the fuse box or disconnect your battery for at least 30 mins or so.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 96

Joined: 1st Apr 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hate it when you take the battery out when you work on the car, then you gotta wait a week for the ECU to relearn properly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 6:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 17

Joined: 24th Feb 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Location: shepparton
VIC, Australia

what 2 pins in the connector plug??? i couldnt find it. there is the white plug in there and fuses? :S

 

_________________

i blow holdens!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names