Fordmods Logo

Speedo Zero position??? XG ute 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Speedo Zero position??? XG ute
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 5:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 128

Joined: 16th Mar 2008

Ride: XG ute, XT sedan

Location: Crazyburn
VIC, Australia

Yesterday I installed a new gear in to my speedo in my XG to get the trip meter going again and did not look at the position of the needle before I removed it.
I reinstalled it on 0 but must have to go before 0 as now the speedo is reads incorrectly and it reads higher than what it should.
If someone has a photo or can take a photo of where it points when the car is stationary to help me out that would be great.
EA EB ED should be the same
Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Speedo Zero position??? XG ute
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 128

Joined: 16th Mar 2008

Ride: XG ute, XT sedan

Location: Crazyburn
VIC, Australia

Bump
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Speedo Zero position??? XG ute
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

heres a random pic of an ed dash

Attachment:
ed dash xr6.jpg
ed dash xr6.jpg [ 11.68 KiB | Viewed 412 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Speedo Zero position??? XG ute
Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:57 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

These clusters use like a stepper motor for the gauge and they typically know where the needle is all the time and will reset the needle to the start position when they are first powered up.

So if say the start position is X (Okm/h) and when you put the needle on the motor is actually at X + 20, the cluster will reverse the needle 20 past 0. Same if the out the neeble on when the motor is at say X + 10. When its powered up it will start at 10.

The only way to do it is trial and error. Take the needle off noting where it was last pointing and put it back on as close to zero as possible, then power up the cluster and see where it starts. If you got 0, all good. Otherwise try try again.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:17 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names