Fordmods Logo

stoping Low fuel warning BEEP BEEP 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stoping Low fuel warning BEEP BEEP
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i have a EA Fairmont ghia that only runs on LP Gas now .... how do i stop it Beeping with the low fuel warning ....
is there a wire i can cut that goes to the trip computer ect

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

im sure there would be or if its only running on gas then why not just pull the plug of the fuel sender much easyer
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Dont ya just hit the reset on the console.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Timmeh wrote:
Dont ya just hit the reset on the console.


yes ....but it is a pain in the a*** to do every time

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Will only do it when you start up.
Doesnt bother me.
Just dont let it the fuel drop so low it comes on.
If you by pass it or fool it it wont ever work.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:38 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Timmeh wrote:
Just dont let it the fuel drop so low it comes on.
If you by pass it or fool it it wont ever work.


it dosnt have any fuel and wont have any fuel ...its LPG only ...

and thats the whole idea to bypass it so it wont work :x

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 452

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

You could unplug the sender wire from your fuel sensor and put a resistor between this wire and the cars body. This will fool the car into thinking the tank is always full.

There is another thread that I posted fuel senders resistances for EAs. Search for that for the correct resistor size.

I think its about 180 ohms.

 

_________________

Adrian
EF Fairmont, 5.0Lt, Pacemaker Headers, Sports cats, Redback muff, T5 manual, 16" Tickford rims, Tickford "Body Styling", DBA Gold Rotors, Heritage Green, JVC MP3
XB Coupe, 351C, twin system, C4 shift kitted auto, 9" LSD, Eccose Blue, very loud !!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah 180 ohms sounds right.

Sorry cougar30 I thought it was duel fuel. :?

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 11:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks Raiki & Timmeh .... might give that a go ....only problem is the screws holding the steel plate covering the fuel sender unit are all rusted and i cant grind them off because of the LPG tank ... thats why i thought there might be a wire behind the trip computer i could cut or something ..
see how i go :(

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:25 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

im not sure.
check out this doc.

http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/documents.php?doc=46
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 8:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have an EB Fairmont, and my LPG tank is connected up to the standard Fuel Gauge. means that the "beep beep" only happens when Im actually out of Gas.

Also means I dont got no d**k other gauge sitting in the car. The only other one I ever did like was the VDO Analog gauge. Factory mich nicer

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:30 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

thats another thing i was thinking of. find out how your lpg fuel guage is hooked up and hook it up so its displayed on the dash. !!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

or couldnt you just go and put $5 worth of fuel in it and leave it there... may work out cheaper in the long run if you break something etc getting the beeping to stop..

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 5:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 202

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont + EF gli

Location: Redcliffe, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

JMC-007 wrote:
thats another thing i was thinking of. find out how your lpg fuel guage is hooked up and hook it up so its displayed on the dash. !!!


Thats not a bad idea ...might look into that

 

_________________

Photos Here :)
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~jewie/index.htm

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:48 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names