Fordmods Logo

Stuck Audio Unit 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 449

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Ride: Falcon AU

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

This is as far as it will come out (See Photo)

Any ideas as to how I can pull the whole unit out?

Attachment:
image_00084.jpg
image_00084.jpg [ 73.45 KiB | Viewed 23 times ]


Attachment:
image_00085.jpg
image_00085.jpg [ 65.6 KiB | Viewed 26 times ]

 

_________________

What do you call a Hyundai with dual exhausts?

A wheelbarrow.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:28 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 33

Joined: 24th Feb 2009

Ride: au ute, fg xr6 sedan

Location: Goondiwindi
QLD, Australia

Just remove the plastic tray that is underneath and then it should come out easy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 449

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Ride: Falcon AU

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mok1275 wrote:
Just remove the plastic tray that is underneath and then it should come out easy.


Yeah I tried that, the tray wouldn't come out

 

_________________

What do you call a Hyundai with dual exhausts?

A wheelbarrow.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

pull or jiggle it


just like ya d**k lol joke

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 202

Joined: 1st Dec 2008

Ride: BAxr6 mkII, BA xr6, EA Spac

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

did u try putting it back in almost the whole way then pulling out the bottom tray by slightly bending the top of it down? if that didnt work just try and yank it out just ehough to try and release the clip behind it

or u may have to find someone with girlie hands to reach up the back of it from your passenger footwell sort of where the center console joins that blob of gizmos and disconecting it before you try and yank it out.

thats all i can think of right now

 

_________________

Homer- Everytime i try to learn somethign new it pushes out old information!
Like that time i learnt how to taste wine and forgot how to drive.

Marge- You didn't forget how to drive you where drunk!

Homer- And How!
Successful Trades: Private9

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 449

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Ride: Falcon AU

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Finally.

I yanked it out - see photo below

But guess what. The unit doesn't fit.

The new unit (black one) is from a V8 AU, mine is a V6 AU

What now? - any ideas?

The problem (circled in RED)
Attachment:
image_00089.jpg
image_00089.jpg [ 77.19 KiB | Viewed 12 times ]


Back of new unit (Has a sharp edge, hence doesnt fit)
Attachment:
image_00090.jpg
image_00090.jpg [ 75.08 KiB | Viewed 22 times ]


Back of old lower pocket (Has got cut corners, hence why it fit)
Attachment:
image_00095.jpg
image_00095.jpg [ 50.78 KiB | Viewed 27 times ]


Front of new unit
Attachment:
image_00091.jpg
image_00091.jpg [ 88.53 KiB | Viewed 29 times ]


Front of old unit
Attachment:
image_00092.jpg
image_00092.jpg [ 50.76 KiB | Viewed 19 times ]

 

_________________

What do you call a Hyundai with dual exhausts?

A wheelbarrow.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

new facia needed, or maybe just trim it up so it accepts the new unit?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 449

Joined: 15th Apr 2009

Ride: Falcon AU

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

FordFairmont wrote:
new facia needed, or maybe just trim it up so it accepts the new unit?


By facia do you mean the whole front panel?

I was thinking of trimming it up but not sure if the new unit would slip out?

What about aftermarket Din pockets? Do they exist for this configuration

 

_________________

What do you call a Hyundai with dual exhausts?

A wheelbarrow.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 10:53 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 202

Joined: 1st Dec 2008

Ride: BAxr6 mkII, BA xr6, EA Spac

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

after market din pockets i dont think will help u with a double-din unit i dont think. i will check mine as it used to have a factory double-din unit and mine is and i6 not a v8 as well.
well mine was an spac so not even an xr, but i would suggest trimming ti and if u come up with an awesome way to get it stuck in (if it slips) let me know as atm mine is just sitting there and is wedged in on some loose wire i had.

 

_________________

Homer- Everytime i try to learn somethign new it pushes out old information!
Like that time i learnt how to taste wine and forgot how to drive.

Marge- You didn't forget how to drive you where drunk!

Homer- And How!
Successful Trades: Private9

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

Honestly the best thing would be to get a surround from an AU 1 that had a double din tape or cd player. It would be the best way to fix ya problem as the fascia surround justs "pops" off and the other one would push back on.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Stuck Audio Unit
Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:30 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 202

Joined: 1st Dec 2008

Ride: BAxr6 mkII, BA xr6, EA Spac

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Froudey wrote:
Honestly the best thing would be to get a surround from an AU 1 that had a double din tape or cd player. It would be the best way to fix ya problem as the fascia surround justs "pops" off and the other one would push back on.

well sort of pops off you have 2 screws behind the ash tray which just slides out and then one more just above that hole where the player goes facing towards you. after that there are just clips round the edges and be careful to not break the clips as it may cause problems on refitting (still use some force though)

once thats off u obviously need to un-clip the looms from your clock (if you have one), and rear demister.
after that should just be and un screw job of everythign attached.

p.s. u will need to slide off the cigarette lighter power cables form behind while unclipping the looms.

 

_________________

Homer- Everytime i try to learn somethign new it pushes out old information!
Like that time i learnt how to taste wine and forgot how to drive.

Marge- You didn't forget how to drive you where drunk!

Homer- And How!
Successful Trades: Private9

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:03 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names