Fordmods Logo

To anyone about to do the blue dash, some suggestions 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

not one thing changed except for brand new LED's. (same brand from the same shop)

Feel free to check out exactly how i did my dash here http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=25129

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 1:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fair enough, when i made up an EA version i found i would get blue dots if the globe wasnt sanded but obviously it workd well for you
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 12:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well what i am thinkin is that the EF's have that clear light diffuser under the speedo and from what i can see the lights has no spot to actually shine a direct beam on to back of the speedo because there are little legs that hang down for the light to travel through, that in turn lights every thing up quite well, and as you can see i didn't use blue led's for mine i spent some time to cut out a filter so that way my needles will stay the colour i make em.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 12:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1339

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FGX G6ET

Location: Worrigee
NSW, Australia

I use sanded 10mm LEDs for my LCDs...cheap as chips off eBay :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 2:57 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fourL6 wrote:
Disco Frank wrote:
ohh another added note

get the resitors to make the LEDs work on 14volts not 12


so you found the LEDs wernt bright enough...


err no

the cars alt produces around 14v NOT 12 when the car is running to keep the battery charged

always use higher rated globes will last longer :)

im trying to get 250+v globes for our house so they last longer

brightness is not the issue

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 07, 2006 3:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 744

Joined: 10th Nov 2005

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hmmm something to think about, makes sense

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 4:52 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

560ohm resisters work fine @ 12 or 15v

thats what i used and i have a HEAP of LED's in both my car and LISA's one.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Last edited by pyroay on Thu May 11, 2006 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 1:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

56ohm? i used 560 and they were quite bright, wouldnt 65ohms burn out the resistors?

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 1:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

shannonwulff wrote:
56ohm? i used 560 and they were quite bright, wouldnt 65ohms burn out the resistors?


he meant 560
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 2:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Meh. I sanded the green LED for the writing on the trip computer and it spread the light soooo much more. Im glad i did that.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 4:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

LED's vary a lot, some have a narrower beam, some are a slightly differnt colour, and they can also draw varying amounts of current, so your resistors and whether you have to sand them or not will vary from person to person and between applications.

personally i rig up a reflector in there along with some sanded/diffuse LED's to get a nice bright and even finish. the way i do it isnt at all a plug and go setup though, and there is no going back to incandesant globes.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names