Fordmods Logo

Trip comp done: S U C C E S S 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 41 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Trip comp done: S U C C E S S
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

okay quick question
what if i plugged my trip computer into my old clock plug (without adding any wires)
will it do anything at all? short cercuit it?
just show time?

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by chunkz on Sat Aug 20, 2005 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Trip comp plugged with normal clock plug
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

chunkz wrote:
okay quick question
what if i plugged my trip computer into my old clock plug (without adding any wires)
will it do anything at all? short cercuit it?
just show time?
Should be OK, but it won't light up, it needs the data connection from the cluster to wake it up.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:34 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

It wont do anything. As mentioned it needs to wire to the cluster to work properly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:18 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The plugs are different for starters.

But yeh, you MUST run the data line from the Trip computer to the instrument cluster to get it working. If it doesnt get a signal, it wont even show the time (unless you press the buttons on the T/C)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

The plugs are the same ONLY the amount of wires is different :roll: :twisted:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

the plugs are different changed the clock to a trip computer on my old car the plugs bigger .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

wtf you serious!!
in doco all it says is add wires!!!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Try this
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Plugs are the same, but u need extra wires and the position of some wires are different.
Trip comp wiring
pin 1 data i/o
2 not used
3 batt power
4 gnd
5 LCD dimmer sig
6 park lamp sig
7 park lamp dimmer sig
8 gnd

Clock wiring
Pin 1 not used
2 ign power
3 battery power
4 gnd
5 LCD dimmer sig
6not used
7 not used
8 gnd

Hope this helps
cheers

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

cheers falcon ea, thats what i thoguht
but when waggin and the other bloke says different plugs, this is going to be a bit of a fooker

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

i have one of each in my garage the trip computer plug is bigger than the clock just went and checked ,that had me puzzled .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Try This
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Acording to the FORD manual it should be an 8 pin plug for both, just different wiring.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

depends on the model
earlier eseries the plugs were the same

later they were different

or maybe the other way around.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok this is to end all the confusion.

Based on EF/EL

The clock and trip computer plug are able to be used on each other, ie if you have a clock you can you taht plug to operate a trip computer. To get the trip computer working you MUST run a wire from the cluster to that plug. If this wire is not installed hte trip computer WILL NOT WORK.

The plugs are the same size. I have a NF Fairlane Trip Computer in my EF Futura, I put it in myself, I know it works.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 906

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB2

Location: s.e suburbs
VIC, Australia

sorry chunks i screwed up i was thinking ea-ed, yeh there right ef-el are the same .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 5313

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Surf, Turbo Diesel

Location: Melbourne, S.E Suburbs
VIC, Australia

relief
thanks twirqy, seems you are good for something :P

im still yet to find my cause

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:34 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names