Fordmods Logo

Trip computer driving me nuts 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Trip computer driving me nuts
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

A week or so ago my dad replaced battery in my Fairmont which reset everything including the trip compy. Since then I've managed to get all the functions working again except one: the bloody Distance to Empty calculation. It's stuck at zero resulting in the thing beeping whenever I start the car and it's starting to get annoying having to push the reset button. The wierd thing is that both the L/100km function and the fuel gauge both seem to be working fine it just won't update the DTE. Anyone have any idea how to fix this?

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:24 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Disconnect the battery again.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:27 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

colour me brown, and call me stumped.

If as you say the economy and gauges work, the dist to empty is just some math the cluster (not the TC!) does internally.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

One time when I reset my TC setting the date started from the year 0. Not 1990, 0. Had to go all the way up through the years to get to the date.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

That's the thing, it *should* be working as all the info it needs to calculate the DTE is there but for some reason the DTE has been stuck at 0 ever since Dad replaced the battery and I can't think why. Normally it updates itself with changes in the L/100km and fuel level but even after putting fuel in it twice it still won't move from 0.

I might try twiqurky's suggestion and disconnect the battery again tomorrow and see if that makes a diff. I've been meaning since I stumbled across the procedure for resetting the transmission but haven't got around to it due to 1) laziness and 2) fear that it might upset things even further.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

LSD wrote:
That's the thing, it *should* be working as all the info it needs to calculate the DTE is there but for some reason the DTE has been stuck at 0 ever since Dad replaced the battery and I can't think why. Normally it updates itself with changes in the L/100km and fuel level but even after putting fuel in it twice it still won't move from 0.

I might try twiqurky's suggestion and disconnect the battery again tomorrow and see if that makes a diff. I've been meaning since I stumbled across the procedure for resetting the transmission but haven't got around to it due to 1) laziness and 2) fear that it might upset things even further.
Assuming the fuel level is low have you tried filling the tank above 1/4?
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

According to the gauge, it was between 1/2 and 3/4 when they disconnected the battery. I put 30L in it last week which brought it up to 3/4 (again, according to the gauge) and just today I filled it up completely (taking 30-odd litres again). I should have seen some change in the DTE by now.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:02 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Bet that was expensive
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

Not as much as I thought it was going to be. The worst part though was that I paid $1.32/L (after discount) only to get home and find that it was going to be $1.30 tomorrow...

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 8:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

LSD wrote:
According to the gauge, it was between 1/2 and 3/4 when they disconnected the battery. I put 30L in it last week which brought it up to 3/4 (again, according to the gauge) and just today I filled it up completely (taking 30-odd litres again). I should have seen some change in the DTE by now.
Going by mine which does not work on LPG if I switch back to petrol when the petrol tank is low (always low) it takes a while before the DTE moves from 0 after the battery has been disconnected.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:06 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Well using the DTE function, I drove from home to Ytala and back then to Gas shop then to mechanics. All aup about 120km. The whole time the DTE was reading 0.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Feb 2005

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

same thing happened to my ed. i disconnected the battery again and left it for about an hour while servicing car and it worked once i connected the battery back up
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

Apologies for the necropost but I'd thought I'd try a couple of things before replying again and then I got sidetracked. Anyway, here goes: I tried disconnecting the battery again followed by a fuel ECU reset. No joy. I tried running it until the low fuel light came on (not a good idea I know but I'm getting a little desperate at this point). Still no joy. Is there anything else that may be causing this? I'm about ready to just rip the thing out of the dash...

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

disconecting it stops it from beeping.... :P

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ?
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

I am assuming that all other functions of the trip comp are working. The trip computer gets all its information by serial communications from the cluster. So there two possibilities as I see it.
1 The trip comp is now faulty

2 the cluster is not sending all the info to the tc

When disconnecting the battery it is usual to disconnect the negative first, this prevents possible trouble with the electronics. Did u do this.

Is it possible to either put ur tc into another vehicle or thiers into yours. this would prove what is faulty. Might be the simplest way. Hope this helps

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names